• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Basic tasker question

I'm new to tasker and I just created a simple when I turn WiFi on turn data off task. However when I turn WiFi off it then turns data on. Is it supposed to do that? Is there a way to turn this off?

Is the Task set and unset on time of day or manual activation? I know that if it's set to activate between certain times, at the point the exit time arrives it will revert to the settings that were in effect before the task was activated, if that makes sense?

I reckon it's something to do with what Tasker calls 'Exit Tasks' but I am no expert on Tasker either.

Upvote 0
Yes, thats how tasker works, settings revert back to original settings if the conditions/contexts are no longer met.

Add an exit task to turn data off.

On your profile screen, expand your profile, you should see the context and task. now long press on the task to get an option box, the top option should be "Add EXIT task" - tap that and just add an existing task or create a new one to simply contain >net>mobile data>set off (and any other instructions you need)

This will then perform the exit task EVERY time the profile deactivates.

Optional: Use an IF statement if you only want this active above or below a specified battery level etc.

Hope this helps.

Upvote 0
Yes, thats how tasker works, settings revert back to original settings if the conditions/contexts are no longer met.

Add an exit task to turn data off.

On your profile screen, expand your profile, you should see the context and task. now long press on the task to get an option box, the top option should be "Add EXIT task" - tap that and just add an existing task or create a new one to simply contain >net>mobile data>set off (and any other instructions you need)

This will then perform the exit task EVERY time the profile deactivates.