• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Battery Drain?

IRobo

May 27, 2012
I don't know if this is because I'm new to smartphones, or if this is a hardware issue and I need to take a trip to the VW store. Last night, I left my phone with about less than half battery left (30% maybe). When I woke up, the phone was completely dead. I have mobile data turned off, wifi on, and no visible apps were running. One thing I do have that I think might be a cause for high drainage is that I let all apps auto update. Is this normal, or is the battery discharging way too fast? Thanks!

The Gnex shuts down at around 5-6% battery remaining to prevent data loss. Just plug in before you go to bed and you'll be fine. You can make it overnight with that little battery but as often as not the phone will shut down.

I've been watching and can make it about 48 hours on a charge with the Gnex and light usage. However, I still plug in most nights to be ready for a hard day with the phone.

Upvote 0
All that said, your battery shouldn't die in a night with ~30% of the battery left. My phone loses about 2.5% per hour on LTE overnight with all of my sync options in tact. More likely you either have a rogue app keeping your phone from sleeping, your service area is poor, or you actually do have a bad phone. Try installing Better Battery Stats from the market and use it it to monitor your partial wake locks to see what is keeping your phone awake and burning up the battery. You can also go to Settings > battery and see what services are consuming the most battery and what your phone's signal looked like, but the Better Battery Stats just gives more information then the battery screen.