Battery draining insanely fast help!General


Last Updated:

  1. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok - so I took the plunge today and went to the 2.1 leak...installed perfectly thanks to Matlock's guide - LOVE 2.1 - it's awesome!!!!

    Just have a ONE MAJOR PROB (and a minor one) - my battery is literally draining before my eyes!

    It will be at 80% and I will load the weather and maybe respond to a text and it will drop to 79%.

    Then if I just flip screen to screen - another 1% gone in less than 15 secs!!

    I have searched through the forums but haven't seen if there is a 'fix"

    I have build 2.26.60534 CL140744 - that's the latest, correct?

    My Minor issue is signal strength - I use to have 3-4 bars constant and now am lucky if I get 2 - again saw others had the same prob but didn't know if there was a fix besides the *228/2 -

    I have powered off - taken battery out - that gave it about 10% more juice but still declines rapidly as before...

    REALLY NEED SOME HELP ON THIS TO PROVE TO MY WIFE I AM NOT A TOTAL IDIOT (please keep those comments to minimum - at least til my problem is fixed) AS "SHE WARNED ME"
     

    Advertisement
  2. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    Every time you reboot, try putting the phone in airplane mode for a minute or two. Then see what happens.
     
  3. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did that - still just the one bar - it doesn't seem to be effecting my data speeds or installing stuff - just wondering if I am missing calls...

    Battery drain is still INSANE>.....
     
  4. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Are you syncing your facebook contacts? Mine drains quickly when I'm doing that because I have a lot.
     
  5. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    how would I know if I was doing that? I mean I have logged into my facebook but have exited that -
     
  6. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    download spare parts from the market and check your "partial awake time", "cpu usage" and "network usage" under battery history. You have an app in there hogging something. Also, what do you have automatically syncing? I had an issue like yours that was fixed by stopping my flickr from syncing....seems like that and FB together just went haywire.

    I do believe that is the newer leak since the numbers are bigger than mine on the old leak ;) 2.1 rocks you just have to find out whats killing your batt
     
  7. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    WOW - I swear these forums rock - just sitting here watching Nemo with daughter and already these replies -

    Will try that gruss and get back to you - might be a bit as she is sick and needing some daddy time to feel better... 2.1 DOES ROCK and haven't even gotten into the 2.0 apps yet....
     
  8. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    So as far as syncing - I go to General Sync Settings and all that is listed is Google (gmail), Twitter, and Weather...

    As far as the others:

    Partial wake usage:
    Android System
    Calendear
    Dialer
    Google
    Messages
    Media

    But none of the blue filling them amounts to much - listed in order of blue bar

    CPU Usage
    Android System
    HTC Sense
    **only two with any bar and it's a sliver
    Internet
    messages
    market
    touch input
    com.htc.bgp
    dialer

    Network usage (again in bar order)
    Android System
    0
    Google
    1010
    Calendar (last one with a sliver)
    1014

    Any advice - getting a bit worried but have confidence in these forums...
     
  9. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Do both options on #228.

    Your screen brightness settings were reset, check those.

    Take off the haptic feed back for the four buttons and for the touchscreen when typing as well.
     
  10. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    smacky -

    Did option 1 on #228 when I first loaded the leak and just did 2 within the last 30 min - are you suggesting doing both again? If so, any particular order?

    Thanks!!
     
  11. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also - I like the haptic feed back :) I know - lame but it's cool -
     
  12. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Well OK, but if you leave the haptic on for the keyboard, just think about all the ergs (or whatever) of battery it takes to vibrate that phone every time you touch a key.
    Then think about your battery.
    And decide which one you like more.
    :)
     
  13. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    No, order does not matter. Just do both.

    The main thing is that you realize your old settings have been reset with the flashing of the leak.


    Vibrations on phone calls, texts, keypad, and on those four front buttons all sap power. I get about 60 texts a day and a call or two so it's vibrating all those times. It does take quite a bit of power. It may vary from phone to phone, but it still takes power.

    Screen brightness is another thing. I don't know to what extent, though. You'll have to do a trial-and-error thing and figure it out that way.

    Also, you may have a signal bug.

    Go to Settings, About Phone, Battery, Battery Use, and tap on Cell Standby. Look at time without signal. What is the percentage given?
     
    paligap likes this.
  14. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    8
    "Go to Settings, About Phone, Battery, Battery Use, and tap on Cell Standby. Look at time without signal. What is the percentage given?"


    i'm having horrible battery life as well SINCE the 2.1 leak upgrade.

    did the above and it says "50%". is that good/bad/normal?

    thx.
     
  15. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    8
    also...

    call me stupid, but....i can't find where to turn off the keyboard haptic feeback?

    cudda sworn i'd seen it in the past, sure can't find it now.
     
  16. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    158
    I did the 2.1 upgrade last night and have the 50% without issue. Battery seems to be draining faster than before (though not as bad as reported here), and I have most (if not all) settings back to the way they were with 1.5. Has there been a determination as to whether 50% without is actually causing battery drain, or is it just misreporting time without signal?

    Has anyone been able to get rid of the bug (other than via the airplane mode trick)?
     
  17. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2

    So under that it says 20% time on 1h 40m

    I just ran out for an hour and battery went from 99% to 83% - yes, I was downloading some apps and sent a text or two but in 1.5 that wouldn't have been squat...

    Got up to 3 bars when I was out but that was normally 4 bar territory...

    This battery issue is worrying me...appreciate the help

    What's a signal bug?
     
  18. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    45
    Just as an aside, my wife's Eris yesterday (Friday 4/2) drained from 100% to 32% in three hours. Running Stock 1.5, nothing changed, nothing new in the way she uses the phone. It just decided to have a crappy battery day. I think sometimes perhaps things are going on with the network that sap the life of our batteries.

    I have a beef with all the tips to save battery life. I realize it's a smart phone, and battery life will be poor, I expect it. But things like turning off the 3g, etc are not even options, because the whole reason for buying a smart phone is the options. If you have to turn off the options to make it get through the day, what's the point of having it?
     
  19. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nope - does nothing for my signal - wondering if i should try to reinstall the leak?
     
  20. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2

    Man, that would be nice if all this is? But coupled with the low bars I am getting a bit nervous about the switch...LOVE THE FEATURES but if I am losing 20% every 45 min doing "normal" smartphone stuff - this is gonna suck!!!
     
  21. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    45
    I'm running the latest 2.1 on mine, and use it heavily. I get about 6 hours out of it. Oddly enough, and it's been mentioned by others before, when I started recharging whenever I had a chance I've definitely seen the battery life improve.
     
  22. paligap

    paligap Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you saying that the more you charge it (meaning # of times NOT LENGTH of time) the better it becomes?!

    At the rate I am going I will get less than 5 hours with "light" use - UGH...not that I am ever really more than 2 hours between charges but just worries me...
     
  23. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Well if your wifes phone is dying fast too sounds like a network issue like maybe its falling out of 3g and going back constantly. Sounds similar to when they were lighting up evdo. Something is up, my phone routinely outperforms my wifes 1.5 phone. No task killers and I don't turn off data unless I'm on a plane. Nothing in spare parts looks odd from what you said.
     
  24. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    45
    Yes, that's precisely what I am saying. It makes no sense to me, it shouldn't work that way but it appears it does. Frequent "top-ups" make top-ups less necessary. I am in the habit of putting it on the charger in the car. I work at home so I can charge when I need to. I've had smartphones for many years, and as bad as the Eris is on battery life, and it *IS* bad, I've seen much worse. You just have to get in the habit of charging when and where you can.
     
  25. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    45
    Yes that is what I was thinking, because usually hers is a battery sipper. Probably because she doesn't use it as heavily as I do...no email, limited web usage, mostly texts, few phone calls. She actually *normally* gets two days on a charge. Yesterday was an exception, which is why I put it down to some sort of network issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...