1. 2015 is going to be a great year for Android! Why wait??
    Samsung Galaxy Note 5 | Samsung Galaxy S6 | HTC One M9
  2. New Forum Created: Samsung Gear VR!

Battery Draining while on Dock, help neededGeneral

1. Rikym

Rikym New Member

Hello everyone

I am new to Android system and this forums. I have recently got a Samsung galaxy Nexus and was very happy with it, but now I have this problem that has so far occurred twice.

While the phone is connected to the desktop dock and is charging the battery suddenly starts draining at fairly quick speed down to 0 and obviously phone dies.

First time I thought it was just misplaced and maybe it wasn't charging after all, but I now checked and made sure it was charging, plus battery monitor also shows charging was active, but power was going down instead of up.
    Phone was just sitting on my bedside while I was sleeping. I rely on it for alarm so I can't really afford for battery to die while I am sleeping and it's supposed to be charging.

Any suggestion?

Advertisement
    :
  2. Tim K

Tim K Well-Known Member Contributor

Did it show charging AC or USB? Sometimes when I plug my phone in I notice its charging very slowly. If I look, it shows that its charging via USB even though it is plugged in to AC. I think the USB port is a little sensitive. If I disconnect and plug it back in it usually goes back to AC charging.

If you see it is USB charging, and the screen is on, or GPS is active or you are in a an area of bad signal, its possible that the USB charge rate (.5 mA) is not enough power to keep up.

If its on AC power and dropping....that's a different problem altogether.
  3. Turdbogls

Turdbogls Well-Known Member

every once in a while i will get this too. seems every once in a while and app gets "stuck" and just runs the CPU like crazy.