Battery Issue? HARD RESETSupport


Last Updated:

  1. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    25
    So this was b4 a hard reset with ATK downloaded and all of the system updates...
    [​IMG]

    And this is after a hard reset with no ATK downloaded and no system updates (prl, firmware, or profile)... Also did the GSM to CDMA trick with *#*#4636#*#*
    [​IMG]

    Edit: apparently a hard reset doesnt elimiate the update i previously downloaded.. (http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/91176-clear-storage-doesnt-remove-update.html)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    looks like i'm doing this! thanks! mine is closer to the top graph right now i would guess but i'd take anythying better

    what app is that?
     
  3. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    25
    SystemPanel
     
  4. droidtime

    droidtime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    11
    what's the gsm -> cdma trick? why's it necessary?
     
  5. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    25
    Basically the phone spends cycles looking for a GSM signal even though there is no GSM for sprint.. change it to CDMA auto (prl) (from GSM auto (prl)) and voila, less time without signal (in menu->settings->about phone->battery->battery use->cell standby)

    this is for the HERO but worked for me.... read up..
    xda-developers ([How-To] Better battery life, reduce Time Without Signal. - xda-developers))
     
  6. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    it's necessary because you have a CDMA only phone connecting to CDMA but then looking for GSM on top of that so the antenna never rests and drains your battery :/
     
  7. RyboCollier

    RyboCollier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    21
    Werid, I've had my phone off the charger for about 6 hours now and when I went to cell standby and my timewithout signal was already at 0%. Not at 50% like that threads states. Anyone else see this on their evo?

    I changed it to CDMA anyways but it doesnt seem like it was hurting my battery life at all.
     
  8. blemas

    blemas Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    this thread is going to come in handy tonight, Best Buy called and told me to come on down, the 2nd shipment arrived today.
     
  9. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117

    Doing this immediately killed my Wi-Fi. Rebooted and it was fine. Did the "fix" agian and WiFi ByeBye again.
     
  10. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    25
    i have not found that with my wifi but i have noticed i get this error message....
    [​IMG]
     
  11. seretogis

    seretogis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    10
    My Time Without Signal is 0% and so I assume this GSM->CDMA thing is unnecessary.
     
  12. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    25
  13. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    So what you are saying to prevent the phone from searching other towers constantly I should change the setting to "Sprint Only" ?
     
  14. neodorian

    neodorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    276
    You do realize that this is not a controlled test, right? Seems that you were running ATK before and not running it after. That right there could be a huge part of it as ATK tends to hurt battery usage.
     
  15. zerozed

    zerozed Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can vouch for the hard-reset trick improving battery performance. My results were extremely significant (and remain so). After doing it, however, I lost the icon for "Navigation" (Google Navigation). Power-cycling the phone on and off, however, made the icon/program automagically re-appear.

    But back to the battery improvement...before hard-reset, I'd lose 50% juice by noon with MINIMAL to NO activity on the phone (and with all radios turned off). By the time I got home at 5, the battery would be down to below 20%. After the hard-reset, I was able to spend a couple of hours doing data stuff (surf the net, shoot video, watch LONG YouTube videos, and use GPS navigation (multiple times)) and still make it home with 37% battery.
     
  16. RyboCollier

    RyboCollier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    21
    Same here.
     
  17. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    If you download the NETWORK app you don't have to go through the *#*#blahblah thing.

    My "time without signal" 0% with or without the CDMA setting changed. I think this is another placebo effect like the CPU widget.
     
  18. wrchad23

    wrchad23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    18
    So what's the word? I'm thinking of a hard reset cause my battery is terrible.
     
  19. igzekyativ

    igzekyativ Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    25

    DO IT.. just be sure to back up your contacts on gmail... also the pictures and vids taken with the EVO are stored on the SD card and wont be deleted...
     
  20. wrchad23

    wrchad23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    18
    Doing it right now. Will report back. I already had my contacts store with Google so it shouldn't be too bad of a process.
     
  21. jdk2

    jdk2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    38
    I did a hard reset and lost flash lite in the Dolphin browser. The battery drains just as quickly as it did previous to the reset. Hmmm.
     
  22. ahnoff

    ahnoff Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    I also had this work for me, except with a few changes. I was getting horrible battery life. Specifically, my battery would be down to 85% a half hour after taking it off the charger (and then slow down for whatever reason), and would be out of juice entirely by the mid afternoon.

    Here's what worked for me: I let my Evo battery run all the way down until the phone automatically shut off, then charged it up until the notification light turned green and left it on the charger another 90 min or so. Next, left it ON the charger while I performed a hard reset. Phone has been off the charger for 10h 8 min and i still have 60% life left with frequent texting, email, and 90 min of Pandora. Total screen time on is an hour.

    One other note: I left off using the SportsTap and HTC News widgets which i had been using previously. I will reintroduce them tomorrow to see if they were one of the factors in draining my battery so quickly.

    Didn't have to do anything with the CDMA reset... time spent w/o signal is only around 5% (which is just my 40 minute subway ride to work).

    With that said, I think what the hard reset did for me was reset my battery meter. With it draining 15% in the first half hour, it's clear there was something wrong with how the phone and battery were interacting. Who knows? In any case, i'm now very satisfied with the battery life.
     
  23. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    So forget the HARD RESET for a second - should we all be doing this trick to nix GSM???
     
  24. ahnoff

    ahnoff Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not everyone. Go into settings and check your Cell Standby usage... hit that and check out your Time without a signal. If the percentage is really high (and your phone has been on for awhile) then you should do the GSM to CDMA trick.
     
  25. MisterEd

    MisterEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    117
    I've had 2hrs set in default (GSM) mode and I have 0% time with no signal. Then I set it for CDMA mode and after 90 minutes still had 0% time with no signal. All these "tricks" are as worthless as the penis enlargement pills they advertise in email spam.
     

Share This Page

Loading...