Battery Life Fix


Last Updated:

  1. Markdental

    Markdental Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi every one.

    My battery life to was not good, that was until I tried this:

    Background first: GSM 2G+3G ("WCDMA preferred") drains battery over 5 times faster than exclusive 3G ("WCDMA Only")

    Average battery drain / hour when phone is idle with screen off:
    1-Standard shipping mode WCDMA prefered, i.e. both 2G and 3G enabled, Wifi off): 10% / hour
    2-Alternate WCDMA Only mode, 3G exclusively, no Wifi: 1.7% / hour
    So I tried changing the phone settings from WCDMA prefered to WCDMA only. WOW battery life instanly better!!! 3G still works and phone OK.

    To do this enter *#*#4636#*#* on phone dial pad, select phone information, then scroll down to selection box, change set preferred network type to WCDMA only. Switch phone to airplane mode, then switch airplane off and watch your battery performance increase by 300% plus...

    You can also use the program Called "Anycut" in the Market to create a shortcut to "Phone Info" and do the same thing without doing the number dialing on the dial pad. That is what I did.

    Anycut Instructions:

    1)Download "AnyCut" from the Market
    2)Longpress on your homescreen and choose "Anycut"
    3)Choose "Activity"
    4)Scroll to "Phone Info" select it and click Ok
    5)Select your new Shortcut on your home Screen
    6)Under "Set Preferred network type" Choose : "WCDMA only"

    There you have it!!


    See how this works for you...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Sunflower1970

    Sunflower1970 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. I've done this. I was already getting good battery life, but did notice it was even better yesterday. Although I'm not too crazy about leaving it in WCDMA only mode since if I lose 3G it won't drop to EDGE. I'll lose signal altogether, which has happened a few times already... :(
     
  3. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    So what happens if you are in areas that you know have poor 3G signal, and its nothing to do with the phone? Would this method prevent you from connecting to a slower (but more reliable) network?

    edit: oh, Sunflower1970 just answered that for me. Thanks :D
     
  4. choffy21

    choffy21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly. I did this for a while and it's just not worth it. In my house I get an awful 3G signal (it's not T-Mobile, I literally live in cellphone hell; if you have AT&T or Sprint, good luck getting a simple text and Verizon is weak), but a perfect EDGE signal.

    I'll take some service over battery life.
     
  5. Markdental

    Markdental Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, this is only good for areas where 3G coverage is good.

    But if you have good coverage, this can save a ton of battery during down time.
     
  6. Esquire1

    Esquire1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    If something like this works, it makes me think a more efficient OS upgrade can help substantially. The switching between 2G and 3G can be more efficiently done.
     
  7. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    that's exactly why this is not an absolute fix for many of us... we don't have enough full 3G coverage here in the US... maybe in the UK, but not here...
     
  8. androidtx

    androidtx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, had a strange experience.

    According to the tmobile map, I am in solid 3g coverage, with 3g coverage being all around me for probably 20 miles. Usually in my house, the 3g signal is 2 or 1 bar, and often drops to edge. Well I just switched it to WCDMA only, and now I am getting a solid 4 3g bars in my house...odd.
     
  9. seeking

    seeking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    how do i set this with anycut?
     
  10. Markdental

    Markdental Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Added anycut instructions to my OP. Check up top :)
     
  11. afine1

    afine1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not so sure I believe this post. I have done the change several days ago to get my 3g working. I in no way noticed any change in battery life.
     
  12. Markdental

    Markdental Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Believe what you want. The change is for idle battery loss. I noticed with even more use today, 25% more battery life remaining when I got home with this being the only change.
     
  13. seeking

    seeking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1

    thanks!
     
  14. Fastmhz

    Fastmhz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    This actually helped! Thanks OP!
     
  15. Markdental

    Markdental Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Np, anytime! :)
     
  16. Esquire1

    Esquire1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this trick along with calibrating my battery. Because I did both concurrently, I cannot pinpoint which substantially helped my battery. I believe the OP did help the most, however, because Cell Standby usage has substantially lowered.

    So for those who doubt, I'd say I gained SEVERAL hours of actual usage. Thanks to the OP.
     
  17. s00paSold3r

    s00paSold3r Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you calibrate your battery???


     
  18. lutherinlondon

    lutherinlondon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried this out on my G1 a few days ago and it does actually help. Unfortunately, wasn't so successful on my N1 as O2 don't have a great 3G network here where as Voda UK have been brilliant so far.
     
  19. Markdental

    Markdental Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1

    Drain your battery all the way down and kill it. Try to turn it back on, let it die. Repeat until it won't even turn on.

    Then charge it all the way back up.

    The batteries are not supposed to need this, but in devices that have a battery indicator, for every 30 discharges, you are supposed to do this to calibrate the battery indicator, not the battery itself.
     
  20. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yup. Otherwise you might end up with an indicator saying that battery's dead when it isn't, and telling the phone to shut off. Which is no fun.
     
  21. Fastmhz

    Fastmhz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just an update. I went 12 hours and 34min at 41% battery life left. I did a ton of texting, minimal web surfing and a few phone calls. I think that's pretty good.
     
  22. androidtx

    androidtx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    It definitely works, but I have found I am in areas that slip to edge coverage too often, and and up a with a phone in my pocket not receiving calls, so I had to go back to preferred.
     
  23. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    that is pretty good... mine would be about 41% after 4 1/2 hrs... and doing nothing outrageous... so some are defective... yours appears to work as it should and/or expected...
     
  24. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Mine seems to be getting better as well - currently at 46% remaining after 11.5 hours......done surfing for 30mins on wifi and probably 20 mins on mobile.
     
  25. bluehaze013

    bluehaze013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    This does help the battery, the problem is though if you have a weak 3g signal you can't make or recieve calls when it goes out because it won't switch to 2g. I thought this was data only but it affects the phone service too had to switch mine back to preferred.
     

Share This Page

Loading...