Battery life on xtrRom


Last Updated:

  1. RunamuckRez

    RunamuckRez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, just a bit of curiosity question, but I was curious as to what settings people were using on their phone and home launchers (pro or otherwise) to extend battery life on xtrROM. Right now I'm getting pretty crappy battery life, but I'm pretty sure the culprits are all animations and live wall papers. Just want to get a feel for what other things I can give up to keep the things that I enjoy (and yes I enjoy the LWP and animations).

    Unrelated question, is any harm done to the phone by keeping USB debugging off? I had to turn it on to use SetCPU.

    Rez
     

    Advertisement
  2. raphifix

    raphifix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    11
    -LauncherPro
    -Medium memory usage
    -Maintain/Build caches, etc...
    -Only 1/5-1/4 of full brightness (No auto)
    -Screen timeout-30sec
    -No live wiallpapers
    -No window animations
    -Wifi off
    -Bluetooth off
    -GPS off
    -3G on
    -Auto-sync on
    -No OC
    -No JIT
    -Autokiller set to strict

    XtrROM 3.0.3 constantly getting around 20+ hours on a charge, depending on use.
     
    Joe Eris likes this.
  3. flightmed

    flightmed Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just curious where to find the autokill setting. I am using 3.0.3 with launcher pro. Thanks
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Do you have the AutoKill app in your app drawer?
     
  5. flightmed

    flightmed Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    no. I thought it was included with the ROM.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I have not flashed 4.0.6, so I don't know, but I do see a note at the dev's XDA page stating that the app is not needed, as it is included in the ROM.

    This means it's either not activated yet, needing Root Explorer > system > app > AutoKiller, touch the menu item and select "install," or there are settings for it somewhere in the settings menu tree if it was automagically installed with the xtr zip flash.

    The other possibility is that it's residing as a zip on your sd card and simply needs to be flashed in.
     
    flightmed likes this.
  7. flightmed

    flightmed Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. I read the same thing about it being built in but can not find it anywhere you suggested to look. I have not flashed 4 yet either. I am happy with what I have. I might try to contact the developer over at XDA and see what he suggest.
    Thanks
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    That note about the AutoKiller is in the spiel about an earlier release, nothing is mentioned about it in the 4.0.6 notes.
     
  9. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
    I downloaded and installed Autokiller and I don't see anything that I can set to 'strict'..

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
  11. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
    Thanks Frisco..
     
  12. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
  13. Praetorian

    Praetorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    23
    To set Autokiller to strict go to Menu > Presets.
     
  14. EricAtUNC

    EricAtUNC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm running 4.0.6 and do not see Autokiller with Root Explorer. Maybe it's been removed.
     
  15. Praetorian

    Praetorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    23
    I just installed it from the market.
     
  16. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
  17. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    It's more of a memory manager than a task killer. Too bad about the "autokiller" name.

    I don't really recommend autokiller and neither do many experienced user.. but some devs seem to.

    Check this out:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=687023
     
  18. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
    yeah, name is a bit misleading. I was having some slight occassional lag (yes, even with 3.0.3) but this seem to add that snap back into it. So far it seems ok. I got some great battery life yesterday. At the rate my battery was depleting I could have gotten 15 hours with moderate usage.

    We'll see how it goes
     
  19. RunamuckRez

    RunamuckRez Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the posts gentlemen, I've been following. It looks like I must have set the overclocking to 748 at one point to deal with live wall papers and that messed the battery up. I've got it back down to 710, without live wallpapers so I'll see how it goes from here on out. I'll definitely be checking out autokiller though, I don't use task killers (thanks goes to Frisco, Caddy, and OTD for that one) but a memory manager might be useful since I'm constantly backing back and forth through things.

    Question for Frisco, I know there was some discussion a while's back on the Eris forum about the 50% bug causing battery drain. The consensus was that it didn't...on stock I didn't pay attention to the 50% bug because it didn't seem to be causing problems...but I've been noticing it on xtrRom regularly and I've been forgetting to fix it with airplane mode. Is there a possibility that it is effecting battery life on a custom rom somehow?

    Rez
     
  20. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Since the developers are giving us an operating system based on a tweaked kernel, yes.. but the variable is that the Eris has shown itself to have multiple personalities, so to speak.

    The same model device with the same software exhibiting issues not across the entire user population, but common issues, tells us that the old, "Your Mileage May Vary" really does fit with owners of this thing.

    Seeing some of those issues crop up in Erises running the 2.1 rooted ROMs and then also in the 2.2 ROMs really disappointed me.. until I reminded myself of the above. ;)
     
  21. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    If you don't mind my butting in on this one, I ran xtrROM for weeks with the 50% bug. Many times I would remember to set airplane mode on boot, but I would often go days after boot before remembering that I had the 50% display issue. And my battery life was the same whether the usage was displaying 50% or not. Your phone may be different, but my battery life was always dead-on consistent with this ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...