• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Battery life

Robi119

Lurker
Nov 26, 2011
Hi there Im new to the Android system, I just got the Galaxy 2S. I really like the phone but in the last week my battery life has gone to the dumps. I fully charged my phone at 4 pm yesterday and it was dead this morning with minimal use.
I checked to see what was being used the most it said the display so i went and changed all that to the lowest setting before bed and it still died. I was also looking at the running sevices and i close some but then they would start running again without me opening then and some of them like the Digital clock widget wasnt even on any of my screens.
COuld i get so help here or i'm a just ******ed.

Thanks

4pm to this morning, if that was 6am, that means 14hrs, so thats already pretty decent battery life. First smartphone? :)

In general, all smartphones whether my Samsung, Nokia, Sony, HTC (God HTC is one of the worst actually) would barely last over 15hrs in real life usage (of course this is also dependent upon certain settings, but that's the average). Apple manages to last longer but thats more due to aggressiveness against proper multitasking in their system.

You can get more life by installing battery saving apps like Green Power or Juice Defender.

Upvote 0
Was it in standby for most of that time or were you using it? It shouldn't be dying that quickly if the display wasn't being utilized.

Depends on his settings. 14-17hrs is the standby life I could expect from my Galaxy SL even with screen off. Its due mostly to the fact I have data turned on always and have background sync enabled (Facebook, emails, etc). I just recently installed JuiceDefender and it seems it will give me at least an additional 5hrs battery life on regular use.

Upvote 0