Battery Recognition Hack

Last Updated:

1. Bankswood

Bankswood Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Many of us with backup batteries that were not Motorola brand have found that after the OTA 2.2 update they will no longer work. Motorola or Google has made a software change so that they will not work. I have two batteries I got off Ebay that I kept in a rotation and quite frankly could not tell any difference in performance.

I am not a programmer, developer. or hacker but it seems that with all the developer talent out there it would be possible to fix this issue. I know I would be willing to pay / donate for fix.

Just a thought!

Advertisement
  2. quickaudi

quickaudi Well-Known Member Contributor

What on the battery is it looking for?

3. Bankswood

Have no idea. Just won't charge the battery and says it's not a Motorola battery.

4. tom108

tom108 Well-Known Member

i read somewhere that they were getting some warranty returns that had damage from some cheap Chinese cells. they probably did this to prevent it from happening as frequent.

5. Bankswood

Well I can understand that!

6. scary alien

scary alien not really so scary Moderator

Bankswood,

Just did a real-quick search and saw an interesting take on the aftermarket battery issue: its likey that VZW/Motorola enabled or included a check in the 2.2. OTA update to complain about batteries (and not support charging) that do not include a temperature and/or voltage sensor in them (ostensibly to make sure that there are not support issues caused by a "non-standard" battery whose batteries don't include these "safety measures"). Not judging, just passing on some info I found.

When your non-original battery is in, can you monitor the temp. and voltage (or rather, % charged) with something like System Panel?

Thanks.

7. Bankswood

Scary, using System Panel I can monitor the battery, dicharge, temp, and sensor

8. scary alien