• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Battery Recognition Hack

Bankswood

Android Expert
Aug 23, 2010
Charlotte
Many of us with backup batteries that were not Motorola brand have found that after the OTA 2.2 update they will no longer work. Motorola or Google has made a software change so that they will not work. I have two batteries I got off Ebay that I kept in a rotation and quite frankly could not tell any difference in performance.

I am not a programmer, developer. or hacker but it seems that with all the developer talent out there it would be possible to fix this issue. I know I would be willing to pay / donate for fix.

Just a thought!

Bankswood,

Just did a real-quick search and saw an interesting take on the aftermarket battery issue: its likey that VZW/Motorola enabled or included a check in the 2.2. OTA update to complain about batteries (and not support charging) that do not include a temperature and/or voltage sensor in them (ostensibly to make sure that there are not support issues caused by a "non-standard" battery whose batteries don't include these "safety measures"). Not judging, just passing on some info I found.

When your non-original battery is in, can you monitor the temp. and voltage (or rather, % charged) with something like System Panel?

Thanks.

Upvote 0
Bankswood,

Just did a real-quick search and saw an interesting take on the aftermarket battery issue: its likey that VZW/Motorola enabled or included a check in the 2.2. OTA update to complain about batteries (and not support charging) that do not include a temperature and/or voltage sensor in them (ostensibly to make sure that there are not support issues caused by a "non-standard" battery whose batteries don't include these "safety measures"). Not judging, just passing on some info I found.