Beautiful Widgets.. 22% of my battery usage?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    That can't be right for one, app, can it? Much as I like how it looks, it just isn't worth sacrificing 20% of my total battery time.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mulveyr

    mulveyr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    9

    I had it running as well - and it *killed* my battery life. I like it... but not that much.
     
  3. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    Thing is EVERYONE here seems to recommend it. Wonder if there is just a larger clock app I can display instead that doesn't suck my phone dry?
     
  4. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41

    Only time I have ever seen it suck up a huge amount of battery time is when I have the GPS location enabled and am someplace where it can't actually get a GPS lock..
     
  5. jbhumph

    jbhumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    54
    I just bought this widget because I have seen so many people recommend it. It have it updating every three hours and am using the "C4RBON_FIB3R_BoneWhite" skin....so far no problems but time will tell me more. 4.5 hour unplugged so far with moderate use....I'm at 80% life
     
  6. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    Look at your battery settings and see how much the app was using.
     
  7. jbhumph

    jbhumph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    54
    I don't even see it listed actually.

    If I go to Battery Manager>Battery Use it shows....

    Display 71%
    Cell standby 23%
    Idle 7%
     
  8. Doit2it

    Doit2it Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    467
    I've had Beautiful Widgets on my DX since day one, and it has never showed up on battery usage.
    My setting are:

    24 hour format off
    Celsius Temp off
    Geolocation on
    Use GPS over network off
    2 hour refresh rate
    Force English on
    sunrise/sunset civil
    Temp notification on
    Forecast opening effect on

    I would thing the "Use GPS over network" would be the big battery drain since there is a warning on the setup screen. Also, if you have the refresh rate set to 15 or 30 min will drain battery faster too.
     
  9. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hmm wonder if I turned that network thing on for some reason? Whats that setting for specifically?
     
  10. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    to give you a more accurate and responsive gps location. You can turn it on the update ur location if you travel alot, then immediately turn it off. There is no reason to just leave it on all the time.
     
  11. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    Ah.. ok.. we were going to use gps apps for geocaching, so I turned it on al the time.

    Prolly best to just turn it on when we are geocaching then.
     
  12. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    Don't bother with using GPS in the weather widget. You're not going to get a more accurate forecast for your EXACT location versus just using the network location option. Forecasts are done per zip code, so as long as it nails down your zip code you're getting the most accurate forecast possible. Using GPS for weather apps just drains your battery more with no benefit.

    I had GPS location enabled before and the widget went haywire (the satellite icon in the notification bar was always on) and used all of my battery. I thought about it some more and realized it doesn't matter if it uses GPS or network location, so I just turned GPS off. It's been fine ever since.
     
  13. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    More good intel. But does the weather forecast change if you are travelling, and its following the gps? Or would it just be better to input the current location and do manual checking?

    That was why we turned it on, thinking as we were travelling we'd see updates for our current location. Course, we always could look at the radar on the weather channel.com.
     
  14. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    If you have the 'geolocation' option set, it'll update to whatever city you're in as you travel and you won't need to do anything manually. It doesn't get as accurate a fix as GPS, but uses less battery. It really only needs to know what city you're in to get the forecast, you'll end up getting the same forecast either way. Might as well use the one that uses less battery.
     
  15. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    Got it. So Geolocation is safe to leave on.
     
  16. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Correct
     
  17. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Not correct at all. If you live or are traveling the the center of a city that may be fine. But if you are on the outskirts of town or live in between cities in a suburb It sometimes needs a more accurate fix to pinpoint your location. Genreally your going to get a fairly accurate forcast and current readings. but if you live in a place like I do, the temperature and weather conditions can change in a very short distance
     
  18. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37

    Most people will appreciate more battery life versus having 1 degree more accuracy in their forecast - and on top of that most people will receive the same forecast using geolocation versus using GPS, but whatever works for you my friend.
     
  19. Gareee

    Gareee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    Our weather can vary greatly because of the mountains surrounding us, but honestly, that can't be predicted anyway.

    Long as we can pull up weather.com's rader, we can deal with the generalization of the one in beautiful widget's home widget.
     
  20. jamo

    jamo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    39
    I liked having Beautiful Widgets installed too, but then I saw once where it was killing my battery life, and I found the weather to be very inaccurate compared to others.
     
  21. Stubbs4Prez

    Stubbs4Prez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having the same problem. Battery usage has gone WAY down hill. Currently be running for 2hr and 11 min since fully charged. I am at only 64% battery left.. and under usage for Beautiful Widgets is at 78%. Gotta figure this thing out.
     
  22. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    check all your settings. maybe post them up here so we can pinpoint the issue. Else you might want to unistall then reinstall. see if that helps
     
  23. dimitri407

    dimitri407 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    16
    Someone posted about going into the Data Manager and changing the social networks to only sync on wifi. I did this and my battery has barely budged. The only downside to this that I have found is that it also disables System Updates.
     
  24. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    It's definitely worth it. While I've noticed that you don't necessarily get more "active use time" out of the battery, it no longer drains viciously while it's sitting in your pocket. If you use it for 5 hours straight, it'll still die. But if it's sitting in your pocket for most of the day, you'll come home with most of your battery still good to go.

    About the whole Beautiful Widgets thing: do you find that having the Geolocation setting turned on (with GPS turned OFF) uses any more battery than without Geolocation?
     

Share This Page

Loading...