Behold II source code is up!General


Last Updated:

  1. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    So i just noticed the behold II source code has been released...

    I wonder what's in it... downloading now :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22
    Kam... funny how you got the source code but we still don't know what processor is running!
    By the way, where did you find the source code?
    Knowing you.... HAVE FUN with it!
     
  3. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Its on the samsung page:

    Open Source - Samsung Mobile

    The phone model is SGH-T939.

    So some updates:

    - Behold II has the same RAM as the samsung
    - It probably uses the same CPU
    - The source is for 1.5 kernel

    The downside is that there's no 1.6 kernel here we can use on the galaxy.

    The upside is that we can easily port the behold II firmware to the galaxy, including the cube interface.

    EDIT: Same ram, same CPU, same everything! Its the same phone. LOL

    EDIT2: No lock button http://pdadb.net/img/samsung_sgh-t939_behold_ii.jpg
    So perhaps they rewired it to the 'cube' button to keep the main boards identical.

    EDIT3: Nope there is a lock button after all!
     
  4. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22
    Kam -
    there is a lock botton, you just don't see it in the pic you posted cuz it's dented.
    Any way to find out what the processor will be from the source code?
     
  5. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yeah you're right. There is one.

    Its the same processor as the galaxy. Same RAM too. I can see it in the source code. MSM720xA
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    as i thought, when i said it would be the same chipset and cpu people were calling me stupid. people hope for far too much

    good thing is though from the videos in the behold section it seems samsung has learned a lot of shit recently and the beholds 1.5 is packing some nice stuff. have you seen the camera? thats a beast. not only a better camera of two samsung phones but the best camera software for android as a whole
    if its just for the camera i want it lol
     
  7. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I was always convinced it would be the same, the only thing i wondered was about the RAM. Anyway overall its good news for us, because we can put that firmware on our phones.

    I'm not sure how the samsung server is laid out, but I was curious to see if there was any firmware up there already for it. Yeah a bit cheeky but who cares heheh
     
  8. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    If its more or less the same phone than the rumor about 1.6/2.0 not appearing on the galaxy is mostly likely not true.

    Unless they won't bother updating Behold :D
     
  9. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yeah, i can't image T-Mobile US being happy about their brand new phone being stuck on 1.5!
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    indeed and they hold alot of power as do telefonica o2
    only thing i can see stopping eclair from appearing on the device is the ram
    if a g1 can handle 1.6 tho then we should atleast be expecting that
     
  11. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22
    True but the g1 can't really handle 2.0 - many of the functions were not working.
    If in 2 months everyone will have 2.0 but the Samsung Galaxy / Behold 2 it would be very sad....
     
  12. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    Eh, the G1 can hangle 2.0 just fine. It lacks internal storage and that is causing a lot of pain trying to fit 2.0 into the ~90MB space it has. They barely got 1.6 in there.

    And I think galaxy has more than enough of that (8GBs) ;)
     
  13. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thats because they ported the rom from the standard base, or from another phone. That takes alot of time to get all the drivers working. There aren't huge {RAM} size increases from 1.5 to 1.6 to 2.0. Its more about these manufacturers bothering to make the code for each platform.

    {EDIT}
     
  14. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    2.0 does pack a lot of new features. There is bound to be a slight increase in size.
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    indeed but i think its more to do with whether the memory can handle all the extra tasty bits 192 is not a lot considering most have 288 and above
     
  16. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    Oh, noticed the Motorola Droid has 16Million color depth. Did they finally include 24bit color support in 2.0 or should I read it as "has a 16 million display, but android only does 65k colors"
     
  17. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes but could we use that memory for the OS ? I don't think so.

    Bottom line - do you think that the Galaxy will get (either through Samsung or through developers) 2.0, and it will be able to run it smoothly?
     
  18. pasxal

    pasxal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that galaxy can handle the "eclair". Also seeing samsung introducing new models running android with the same hardware makes me expecting it. I think that the rumour about not getting any updates is a rumour and nothing else. The only problem for me is, WHEN we will get the update.

    @kam187 i read sth about a new custom rom is it true?
     
  19. MichaelW

    MichaelW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    26
    That is good news! After looking at the video of the BeholdII in use I'm particularly interested in the camera app on that!
     
  20. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yes drakaz will release it soon. We found a way to increase the RAM by 10mb by sacrificing the GPU1 which is responsible for 3d graphics. Since they dont work anyway its not a big loss. You'll be able to switch quickly between that extra 10mb and normal kernel using recovery - without any restore of effect on the current OS of course :)
     
  21. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    What do you mean the GPU1 graphic does not work? If it worked in G8 it should work now.
     
  22. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Some 3g games work, and some are slow or dont work at all. I suspect that they had used more RAM for GPU1 in G8. Remember how in H2 the available memory all of a sudden jumped to 40mb?

    Do you have an example of a game that worked in G8 and doesnt now? We can test some other values of GPU1
     
  23. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    samsung borked 3d graphics in all updates after g8
     
  24. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Can anyone with a youtube account message this guy and ask him to type *#1234# into the dialer and give us the PDA/PHONE/CSC version?

    YouTube - jhat3k1's Channel

    I think you know where i'm going with this :]

    If 5 or 6 of us ask, he might do it!
     
  25. lazarus101

    lazarus101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    6

Share This Page

Loading...