Bell Phone Dropping 3GSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mikeh36

    mikeh36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey fellow Galaxy users on the Bell network. Are any of you having problems with your phone dropping 3G and the only way to get it back on is to reboot your phone?

    I'm running Galaxo 1.6.3.3 but even when I was running Samsung's 1.6 release at least twice a week it'll just drop the 3G signal. As far as I can tell there's no rhyme or reason for it. I'll notice that I haven't heard any notifications in a while (usually if I hear it tell me that I've got an email I just check it on the computer I'm on) and when I check it the signal is dropped. There's no pattern for it, I've sent texts or made phone calls and it worked fine, 1/2 hour later....nothing.

    Just wondering if it's just me or if others are having the same problem. Maybe if it's just me I can try to swing a deal with Bell for a Legend (like the Galaxy but can't stand the official support (Drakaz, on the other hand, is my hero)).
     

    Advertisement
  2. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I don't have a data plan and only use the wifi, so I can't really help you (I can't really afford it).

    Anyway, I still feel the same as you, because the wifi drops out randomly too! However, it always connects again when I open the settings, but I doubt that's going to help you.

    I pretty much posted that just to say that I am not ignoring this message, just that even though I own a I7500L on Bell, I can't help you. There are some more users like us, which I hope will give you some advice.
     
  3. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yup happens to me too. Doesn't seem to matter which version I am on. Hell I lost all my phone signal too on the way home today.
     
  4. Snazzy

    Snazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    37
    This used to happen to me about once or twice a month and what I noticed was the APN setting would disappear. I could rebuild it as I noticed it or if I rebooted the phone it would USUALLY rebuild itself. Very strange. I haven't had it happen to me in a LONG time.
     
  5. stickus

    stickus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same here. I had issues all the time. It would happen on the stock rom, the leaked 1.6 roms and up until Galaxo 1.6.2 for me. Since jumping onboard with 1.6.3.3 I haven't had an issue with it since. I'll often loose signal inside office buildings, but it'll always come back once I head back outside. As for dropping wifi, mine would drop every time the screen would sleep. Found an option under the wifi settings to keep it powered even if the screen sleeps. Made a huge difference.
    Off topic: where in Canada are you guys? I've been looking for other Galaxy users in the Victoria BC area, but with little luck.
     
  6. mikeh36

    mikeh36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmmm okay so do we blame the phone or Bell's crap network? :)

    Glad to see I'm not the only one that has the problem.
     
  7. IDEAL41

    IDEAL41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12
    My wife has an iphone 3gs on bell and she never has and issue with 3g service....my galaxy goes in and out...that being said...I have only lost 1 call because of a drop.....it would be nice if bell supported their 3g phones to work on a 2g network.....seems unless you can get a 3g signal you have no service...rather than being able to utilize 2g or something. shold have researched my choice...it was free and it is a nice phone but I was at the bell store yesterday and the htc legend with 2.1 is on the shelf now for $79....Dammit Jim! I can't see the future! ....I should have waited a couple months before I upgraded.

    Stikus..I am in Chilliwack
     
  8. Snazzy

    Snazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    37
    I'm work in Vancouver and ride the Sky Train from Cloverdale. I'm a looky-loo for sure and I always peek at what other phones people are using on the long commute. So far I have only seen ONE other Android device in probably a sea of a thousand iClones. Android has just not taken off yet in Canada or certainly not in Vancouver.
     
  9. IDEAL41

    IDEAL41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12
    I like the android system over my wife's iphone...I have an ipod touch with all the goodies....seems 'sterile' compared to android....I hope it takes off up here...be nice to have someone at the bell store who knows what they are talking about if you ask them a question....like 3g dropping...nobody at bell has a clue....I think they are the folks who failed to get work at Canadian Tire (no offense, I worked at crappy tire for 3 years). sorry if this is a bit of a threadjack.
     
  10. DeviledMoon

    DeviledMoon Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bells Network is one of the Best networks in canada, its the phone.

    My 3G never drops unless its at a VERY LOW signal, then it switches to 2G.

    The issue is most likely: The Frimware

    You might want to reflash your phone
     
  11. IDEAL41

    IDEAL41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12

    o.k......that said ...any recommendations on firmware....currently galaxo 1.6.3.2 MIK6 ON DONUT JC6 BUILD
     
  12. Snazzy

    Snazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    37
    :eek: I have never seen my Galaxy on 2G. Can anyone else confirm Bell network will support Galaxy on 2G?
     
  13. IDEAL41

    IDEAL41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12

    when I switch manually to 2g I loose service altogether.
     
  14. DeviledMoon

    DeviledMoon Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    2G is no icon, its just SMS and Calls...

    Newest Galaxo on 1.6 JC6
     
  15. IDEAL41

    IDEAL41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    12
    the 3g icon disappears when I manually switch to 2g and then the signal meter goes empty with a little 'x' beside it...I try to make a call and I get a message 'no network available' or something like that on the screen and the call goes nowhere.
     
  16. ABCDawg

    ABCDawg Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've had issues with completely losing service since I got my phone. It's completely random...

    Sometimes a few days will go by and the phone will be fine, and then the next day I'll lose service half a dozen times, lasting anywhere from 5 minutes to half an hour. Then the phone magically reconnects itself. Tho restarting also causes it to hook back up with the nextwork.

    I spoke with a Bell rep. in store and he said that when Bell first launched their high-speed network they found some SIM cards had some issues staying connected to the network. He recommended that, if the problem persist, I look into getting a new SIM card. Haven't done that yet, but it's a possibility?

    Cheers!
     
  17. mikeh36

    mikeh36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've already had mine replace once. It totally died and wouldn't connect.

    I was in a Bell store today to try and finagle a trade for the HTC Legend. No go. I may consider getting one added to my plan and give my Galaxy to my son.
     
  18. kzod

    kzod New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I'm not the only one frustrated by this piece of %^#. The battery life sucks on it, and I also get no service when turning off 3g with Bell. How exactly do we upgrade the firmware without too much risk of bricking the phone? Doesn't look like Bell's supporting this effort.

    Also do any of you guys have issues with some apps not working on the phone? I've tried reinstalling Yelp countless times but never get it to work.
     
  19. stickus

    stickus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    For those wondering about toggling off 3G and losing signal altogether, this is due to the fact that Bell doesn't have a 2G (GSM/GPRS) network. They were a CDMA provider before they rolled out their 3G (UMTS/HSPA) network. This means that we can't switch to 2G to save battery life, as there's no network to switch to. I would think that the HTC Legend (which looks REALLY sweet btw) would have some of the same issues, at least when it came to battery life and dropping 3G connection. Also there is no way to update the baseband firmware on this beast, as what bell has is all we're gonna get. BMIK6 baseband with Galaxo or GAOSP are the best we can hope for, which is why I'm looking at trying to purchase a Nexus One or Milestone sometime in the near future.
     
  20. herb2323

    herb2323 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought my Samsung Galaxy S in August. Bell is my provider and this phone has worked perfectly up until last week. AS soon as i leave town, I lose my network connection. i have upgraded my firmware from 2.1 to 2.2.1 then to the new 2.3.2 Gingerbread then to 2.3.3 Gingerbread and finally back to 2.2.1 FroYo. Now having done all this the network problem still persists. ANY ANSWERS ANYONE?
     

Share This Page

Loading...