Benafits of 2.2 dk28


Last Updated:

  1. devo52

    devo52 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i need help i am currently running quantum rom 1.5 with dk17 what are the benafits of have dk28 please help a noob out
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Right now they are pretty close to the same.

    The advantage is that DK28 is the official 2.2 release as opposed to Quantum 1.5 based on the leak of DK17.

    There are minor bug fixes, but there are other new bugs as well. Kind of a catch 22 if you ask me.

    If you wanted to, you could update the modem with odin to dk28 and flash Quantum2.0.0 though. It would get you the update. :)
     
  3. devo52

    devo52 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont know if i got the chance to thank you for the quantum suggestion but thanks you have been a huge help to me with my phone. is there a way to back up my data that i have now all the post state that i will loose everything
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    NP, we're all here to help each other out. :)

    In theory, you should be able to back it up with Titanium Backup (from the market). That being said, I prefer to set everything up from scratch as I've seen times where the backups cause problems.
     
    devo52 likes this.
  5. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    do you think you could walk me thru the process you suggest here, updating the modem to dk28? i would like to do that and flash the latest version of Quantum... i'm getting a feel for flashing roms, but i can't figure out odin. alternately, could i flash any Rom that has dk28, and then flash Quantum, or am i better off doing just the modem first? if you could help me achieve this, it would be greatly appreciated!
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    You are better off doing the modem first. Do you have the modem downloaded? Where are you having problems at... or do you just need a generic walkthrough?
     
  7. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    hi! i think i got the right modem using odin... my baseband version now ends with dk28! is that correct?

    my problem now is when i go into clockwork recovery to flash my rom of choice, it takes me to the BLUE manual screen instead of the green screen... on the blue screen there is no option to backup and restore. can i still flash and do everything properly from the blue screen?

    i had some problems earlier and had to recover from a soft brick, and then re-root. since then i can only get to the blue recovery screen.

    thanks very much for the response.
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Yeap, that's correct!

    How are you trying to get into recovery?
     
  9. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    cool!

    i'm going to recovery the same way i was before- by holiding the power button, camera button, and volume down button all at once.
     
  10. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Sounds like you don't have Clockwork recovery "installed."

    Do you have SuperUser app in the app drawer?
     
  11. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    yes i do have superuser in my apps. i ran the one-click root after flashing back to stock. but also, i now noticed that titanium backup is not granting root access, even after trying the busybox update thing. what do you recommend next? should i try one-click rooting again?
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Which one click did you run? Link?
     
  13. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
  14. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
  15. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
  16. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    ran it again and...... SUCCESS! thanks a million, i appreciate your help.

    now i have dk28 modem and should be good to flash roms! which do you recommend? i'm looking at Epic Experience and Quantum.
     
  17. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I'm running Quantum 2.1.0 and couldn't be happier!

    :D
     
  18. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    right on! i'm leaning toward that myself:) i read somewhere that 4G doesn't work on Quantum... true or no?
     
  19. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Not in a 4G area so can't confirm... but on the last leak it was working fine and others say that it works too... :confused:
     
    yogi2000 likes this.
  20. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    ah ok, i'm gonna go for it it. in my opinion 4G isn't that great so far, except being able to browse the web while on a call, when not on wifi.

    anyway, just about to flash quantum... hopefully it'll go smoothly.
     
  21. JDubbleTrouble

    JDubbleTrouble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    im just gonna... +1 that
     
  22. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    nice! i feel like i'm making a good choice then.
     
  23. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Don't forget to flash the phone fix!
     
  24. yogi2000

    yogi2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    9
    oh hold up, what's this? i'm already signing in to the new system... should i go back and flash something more?

    i just dowloaded the fix... do i have to go back into recovery and do all the wipes again to flash it?
     
  25. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    You can keep doing what you are doing. When you get the chance, download the fix and flash the zip file. No wiping required for that part.
     

Share This Page

Loading...