Benefits of Rooting, Data Conserving, and Volume IssueSupport

1. DrSteveBrule

DrSteveBrule New Member

So, I just got my Droid Razr M and am beyond happy with it (even though I am upgrading from a worn out X2). This is only my second smartphone, but I feel like it is a really good one.

I have a couple of questions though. I apologize if the answers can be found elsewhere, but after searching for a few days I decided to just ask.

• What are some advantages, besides freezing/removing bloatware, to rooting this device? I have no experience with rooting, but it is something I have thought about and would probably like to do. Also, would rooting now affect the phone when the official JB update is released?
    • Since I am switching over from my X2, I no longer have the convenience of unlimited data. Are there any good ways to conserve data, besides using WiFi more often? I feel like I'm likely to go over my 2gb/month limit if I don't start conserving. (I've had to ditch my lovely Spotify Premium subscription because of the data use :()
    • Finally, I have noticed that when I have my phone plugged into my Aux port in the car, it is significantly quieter than when I had my X2. I find this weird considering the fact that the actual speaker is much louder. Luckily, I can boost the dB's on my music with Winamp Pro, but has anyone else noticed this problem? And is there anything (besides a sketchy "VOLUME BOOSTA" app) that I can do to fix this?

Thanks in advance for any support, and I apologize for my unnecessarily lengthy questions :D

Advertisement
    :
  2. rchez16

rchez16 Well-Known Member

Like you, I am a recent convert to the Razr M, coming from an Inc2 with unlimited date.

I have no experience rooting, so I can't talk to that. Nor have I had the experience that you do in the car.

As far as cutting down on data, the obvious one is what you pointed out, use WiFi more.