Benefits of rooting without installing custom Roms?


Last Updated:

  1. wankingweiner

    wankingweiner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just wanted to know if there are any benefits of rooting without installing custom roms? Now i've seen many threads here listing many benefits but its not clear whether u get those extra features from the custom roms or just from being rooted.

    So i was to root my phone and then leave the stock rom on, what extra would i be able to do?
     

    Advertisement
  2. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Well, for starters, it depends a lot on what your device is. Some devices are required to downgrade to 1.5 in order to root, so rooting and leaving the stock rom on would have a negative effect.

    If that's not the case, say if you have a Nexus or Droid, then leaving it stock would still allow you to add apps that require root, such as the screen capture apps, Titanium Backup, SetCPU, etc. You would also be able to apply custom theme, add or delete ringtones, and make other changes to the phone's system.

    While you'd still most likely be losing out on an increase in speed and smoother screen transitions without a custom rom, if you don't have to downgrade the rom itself staying stock wouldn't be a major deal (until there's an OTA upgrade that you can't apply).

    On the other hand, once you've rooted, flashing a custom rom is a piece of cake.
     
    dtuskey1 likes this.
  3. wankingweiner

    wankingweiner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    thanks for the response InstantKarma.

    Im looking to get the Desire btw so i dont think downgrading is necessary. I have another question though, if i root and leave the custom rom on, would i be able to install OTA updates from HTC? Or would i have to "unroot" (if thats possible)?
     
  4. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    No, with a custom rom you wouldn't get OTA updates. As I understand it, when that happens you can unroot, or wait for an updated version of a custom rom.

    Here's an interesting thread on rooting the Desire.

    Root the desire? - xda-developers
     
  5. wankingweiner

    wankingweiner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think you misunderstood my post. Would i be able to install new updates if i root my phone but have the stock Rom install, not a custom Rom.

    Im totally new to the android scene and this will be my first android phone. I want to root but dont want to take such a huge step by installing a whole new rom as well. Well maybe not at first.
     
  6. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    No, I didn't misunderstand, I forgot. lol Sorry, I'm tired as hell (I work nights) and mildly senile. :D

    That might make a difference, but I don't know for sure one way or the other. I'm pretty new to rooting and custom roms, myself.
     
  7. wankingweiner

    wankingweiner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    ah ok lol

    So anyone else know?
     
  8. Lutherian

    Lutherian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all.
    I have a question that fits under this thread nicely.
    I've rooted my phone (latest unrevoke).
    All I want is to use app2cd, I'm happy with the stock standard HTC Sense on Desire. (Could someone give me pointers on how to format my SD card - from what I understand I need a fat, and ext3 and a swap partition.)
    Would this allow app2cd to work?
    Thanks
     
  9. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    You do know that you can move apps to the sdcard with 2.2, right?

    But to answer your question, at least partially: your sdcard is already formatted to fat32 or it wouldn't be working. I don't know how to set up partitions with Clockwork, but it should be fairly straight forward when you're in recovery.
     

Share This Page

Loading...