best AM FM Transmitter / 8GB memory card brand/ bluetooth handsfree for my HTC HERO ?


Last Updated:

  1. qprjim

    qprjim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    i was thinking of using my HTC HERO for my in-car music, so yesterday, i bought a cheap AM FM Transmitter for
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I use the Jabra JT700 and the FM transmitter works great, it can be a bit picky connecting to BY some times, but I find enabling the device before you enable BY in rhe phone helps, for the money its pretty good, I drive 300 miles ish to work and don't have any interference issues, but changing the fm channel is super easy if you have to.

    Hopefully 2.1 will improve the BY stack and resolve any connection issues
     
  3. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    For my wife's car's handsfree I got a Sony Ericsson HCB100 from ebay for about
     
  4. qprjim

    qprjim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the responses chaps, will do some research on them products. P.S. any thoughts on the other Q's I asked. CHEERS
     
  5. AstroDonut

    AstroDonut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've got an in car stereo with aux input, I use a 3.5mm to twin rca lead, mp3's play fine, it's a handsfree phone and 100% legal, I would recommend a decent holder (moulded style, not a multi fit).

    Car stereo's are fairly standard with an aux input these days

    Executive Pack For HTC Hero
    Don't get this, just look at the in car holder, that's what I bought

    I would STRONGLY recommend you get a charging lead for the car too as the Hero battery is prone to discharging (not a fault, just the fact that it's a fun phone and you won't want to put it down!!! I know I can't leave it alone!!!)

    As far as I'm aware, the Hero will only recognise an 8gb card (unless anybody knows different), I've read that class 6 cards are quite good.

    Hope this helps
     
  6. petefoth

    petefoth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not so. I have a 16gb card in mine and it works fine.

    Regards

    Pete
     
  7. qprjim

    qprjim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Jaffa - Did you mean the JABRA SP700 as i could not find the JABRA JT700 ? Peterc10 - does the sony ericsson hcb100 transmit music from the hero directly onto your car stereo speakers ? Astrodonut - i have seen the in-car holder you have said, but i have a protective cover on my Hero and with the phone being a little bit bulkier, i've got a feeling it won't fit. I'm currently using my old phone holder (which is clipped on 1 of the air vent's) and that is fine at the moment. Petefoth - i noticed by searching on this forum that 16gb's work fine on the Hero as well. Just don't really want to spend more
     
  8. peterb23

    peterb23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    12
    You're right. It won't fit. I just don't use the cover now.

    On the FM problem. Have you double checked the media volume on the phone? I plug the phone straight into the AUX on the car radio but the media volume on the phone has to be pretty high.
     
  9. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
     
  10. qprjim

    qprjim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cheers Jaffa. Seriously thinking of getting the Jabra SP700. Only thing worrying me at the moment, is me living (and doing lots of driving) in London and the amount of pirate radio stations about. Does the Jabra SP700 allow itself to stick to 1 freq or does it constantly look for the best freq which would proberly mean me having to constantly fiddle about with the car radio. Peterb23 - Despite me having a Kenwood radio in my car, problem is it's about 10 years old so it does not have AUX on it. "I KNOW I KNOW, i've got to get with the times..........."
     
  11. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I have found with mine, Its attached to the visor, and if I have the visor flipped up, with the device between the windscreen and the visor, I have not had to change the frequency.. When I arrive at work (In crawley) I turn of the device and the frequency I am using has a clear station on it, but the Jabra over powers that signal... Its that good!!

    It does not auto seek, but one press of a button on the Jabra increments the frequency by .1 so its very easy to flip it, not that I have had to, but I have not driven In London with it.

    Buy it, try it, Hate it send it back get a refund!
     
  12. qprjim

    qprjim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Jaffa - i ordered the Jabra sp700 on Fri 5th March from Ebay and it arrived the very next morning. Ended up paying
     

Share This Page

Loading...