Best browser for viewing Flash contentSupport


Last Updated:

  1. campuscop2003

    campuscop2003 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just wondering if now that we have full flash, if there is a "best browser to use" I have been using skyfire and it seems slow and choppy and sometimes things dont even load. Is there a better browser or any other advice you could give me? Thanks a bunch. I apologize if this has already been covered.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
  3. StaggerLee

    StaggerLee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    24
    Do I have to install flash from the market even though I just updated to Froyo? A little confused here...isn't included in the froyo update? I can't find it on my phone...
     
  4. campuscop2003

    campuscop2003 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just did the update to the latest version of flash as the linked post stated to do, still have piss poor flash performance with skyfire.
     
  5. sbmhome

    sbmhome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    11
    Skyfire is not like a traditional browser.

    Skyfire uses FireFox on skyfires servers to render images ( that look like webpages) to send to your phone, therefore you cannot update flash or anything else when using Skyfire. You would have to update flash on the Skyfire servers.

    Updating flash on your phone would update it for the stock browser.
     
  6. campuscop2003

    campuscop2003 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just checked stock browser and its so much better than the skyfire. I have skyfire as default. Anyone know how to switch to the stock browser as default? Cant see to find a make default browser setting anywhere.


    Thank for the info sbmhome, might uninstall skyfire.
     
  7. markketch

    markketch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    192
    Can anyone get videos in ESPN to play? In the stock browser it looks like Flash is going to play the videos, but then I get a tiny blue question mark and the video placeholder is just an image.

    I'm using the update Flash 10.1 player referenced above.
     
  8. Twiz

    Twiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    106
    I have the stock froyo 72 version and just played the Kicking Things Off video on ESPN mobile web with no issues.
     
  9. markketch

    markketch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    192
    Try the full site.
     
  10. Twiz

    Twiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    106
    I see what you mean now. No I can't get them to play on the full site. Glad I'm not that interested in sports!:rolleyes:
     
  11. markketch

    markketch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    192
    Haha, well thanks for checking. ESPN must have changed something on their because my coworker pulled up ESPN on his Incredible two days ago and it played fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...