Best Buy Activation


Last Updated:

  1. timlot1

    timlot1 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Finally got my call from bestbuy to set up my 9am appointment. He asked do I wan't all this stuff installed, invisishield, google account, etc. I declined. The only thing I wanted to know was it necessary for them to open/handle my phone to activate it, and was told no they don't. I know it may seem really picky but I have seen reps mishandle customers phones to chance it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. JMac202

    JMac202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    150
    My appointment is Friday at 7am. They asked about the screen protectors and chargers. I said no. Then asked if they will have the dock for it and they said yes so I said I'll take one of those. Im the first one to get mine on Friday.
     
  3. GhostFlame

    GhostFlame Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    13
    same here, all they have to do is scan it and then they are done
     
  4. cesjr02

    cesjr02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    24
    I thought the dock wasn't suppose to come out until July, or end of July.
     
  5. vkdroid

    vkdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    Oh, you mean just scan the actual UPC on the box and do something with your account? I kept thinking they would program it on your phone or something too. Wouldn't the appointments just take like a minute or two per person then?
     
  6. bfreddyberg

    bfreddyberg Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not necessarily, still have the whole contract deal to go over and fill in. At my BB store they're spacing appointments in hour increments! VZW is the crack ones I believe where they need to call in and what not on your phone...
     
  7. djdisturbed

    djdisturbed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    81
    They 30 mins appointments at mine, BUT prob to keep form happening like when the pre launched last year, they are preparing for computer issue b/c their computer that connects into the sprint activation network/plan upgrade went down (due to the network being overloaded w/ everyone activating phones & changing plans at the stores at the same time) and they had to call the activation in which, of coarse, takes longer.
     
  8. BPHusker

    BPHusker Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Speaking of activation, is BB going to charge me for activating the Evo? I am a Sprint Premier member and I thought it said a member benefit was free activation.
     
  9. djdisturbed

    djdisturbed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    81
    Best buy does not charge, sprint does and add it to your next bill, as for the S/P members not geting activation charges I guess we will have to wait and see, and if they do charge it, then you can call sprint and get them to take it off.

    EDIT: from sprint premier web site "We also waive the upgrade fee, and, if you upgrade online, you can forget the shipping and activation fees." so activation fee only get auto-waived if you order online BUT I have found that if you call sprint CS and complain about the fee alot of times they will take it off.
     
  10. T Mac

    T Mac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    89
    How much did you pay for the dock?
     
  11. JMac202

    JMac202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    150
    Who knows? That's just what she told me but she was also admittingly new to her job but the guy in the background said they were going to have it when she asked him. Then again they could of thought I was talking about something else and be mistaken. We'll see come Friday at 7am if this is the case.

    Don't know yet. If they have it on Friday then I will let you know. Until then Im in the dark as far as price.
     
  12. ImmaSlave4U

    ImmaSlave4U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    Premier customers should not pay any upgrade fees. If it by hance does show on your bill all Sprint and they'll take care of it.
     
  13. malibu23

    malibu23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    17
    dayum were they gonna do all that extra stuff for free? i wanna have my screen protector installed @ launch? i P'O'd mine at RS, i doubt i want the goofy rep there installin my screen protector. does BB install em on phones u didnt buy from them?
     
  14. JMac202

    JMac202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    150
    Yes. You pay for the screen protector there and then also pay an installation fee. Not sure they will do it if you bought the screen protector from somewhere else though and try to bring it in there.
     
  15. malibu23

    malibu23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    17
    dayum. if its unopened whats the difference? i hate when stores dont touch anything they dont sell you.
     
  16. ekt8750

    ekt8750 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    133
    I'd prefer them not unboxing my phone touching it. I doubt they need to do anything with it since the phone's ESN is printed right on the outside of the box.
     
  17. taylor7667

    taylor7667 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have been through this activation process before with Radio Shack, but not with Best Buy. However, I can tell you that BB will have to activate the phone and this should take at least 10 minutes of the BB rep on the phone with Sprint. In my past experience that meant removing the phone from the box and taking the battery out to activate it (my palm pre). I hope the process is more efficient this year.
     
  18. CoachEVO

    CoachEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    23
    Called Sprint the other day. BB will add it to your account, but Sprint will (should) remove it automatically. I made sure that he said that more than once. As with all things, just be sure to check but premier customers should be good to go.
     
  19. andddlay

    andddlay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    22
    I called BB earlier and they said that they have to take it out of the box, and that they have a one-time only code in case it doesn't activate properly. Unfortunately, they will be turning it on first :-\
     
  20. sean76

    sean76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    779
    no call from the Shack or BB here in NYC....
     
  21. vkdroid

    vkdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    Does anyone know what else Best Buy does during activations? I kinda just want to be in and out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...