Best Buy Gmail


Last Updated:

  1. Blasto

    Blasto New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got a call from Best Buy stating to make sure I have a gmail account before coming in for my appointment so they can get me done faster. Is that a requirement.
     

    Advertisement
  2. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    51
    Not a requirement, tell them to HIT SKIP!
     
  3. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Hmm Yes you need to set up a Google account to set up the phone. When you first turn an android phone on it wants an account and password. Trust me it works out pretty well because all your contacts end up in Gmail. If you ever reset your phone just put int your gmail address and password and you contacts resync to your phone
     
  4. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    You can hit skip? Lol wow I just always plugged mine in. I guess because I use gmail
     
  5. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    yeh u need a gmail account but u dont need bestbuy to set that up its easy to do once u get home
     
  6. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    51
    I don't see how its required. What about the people who will be ordering online? :D
     
  7. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Well the cool thing about using GMAIL is that you can prepare now to have all your contacts set up....add them pics to the contacts!!!! trust me its cool to boot up a phone for the first time and in about 3.56 seconds you have all your contacts there.......
     
  8. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    51
    Its not required to activate the phone, no. Just don't want you coming back to them when things aren't syncing and the market place isn't working etc
     
  9. bluehaze013

    bluehaze013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    Makes me glad I pre-ordered from Sprint online LOL I don't wan't anyone setting up my phone except for me!
     
  10. alf1096

    alf1096 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    BB wants that so they can turn your phone on and set it up for you. I for one am going to tell them politely no I will set it up myself.
     
  11. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    i highly recommend getting gmail but thee is no reason for bestbuy to set that up except for android noobs but its easy so i recommend doing it at home and u dont need a gmail account at time of buying cuz its not required at that moment for activation
     
  12. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    51
    I agree! and tell them to leave the protective film on!!
     
    misterzeno likes this.
  13. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Just tell them to not turn on the phone, to activate it, you are in hurry and do not need their help. Unless you want their help, then bring a gmail account.
     
  14. Blasto

    Blasto New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for all the quick replies
     
  15. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    I agree as well but seeing as all we are doing is sitting and waiting and dreaming for this damn phone we might as well get a gmail account all nice and ready with our contacts so we can immediately have them Friday. Did this the day before I got my hero and it was awesome
     
  16. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    228
    yup, this is exactly what i'm gonna do. go in, let them know that i just need it activated so i can get back to work!
     
  17. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    they don't have to set the phone up for you, just tell them you gotta run. they DO have to activate your number on it though, which is really just scanning a bar code
     
  18. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    51
    its not required sherlocks don't scare the poor thing!
     
  19. p00kienrayray

    p00kienrayray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    15
    not only do they not need to set it up for you, but they also don't need to know your gmail address and password either.
     
  20. thezlog

    thezlog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah it will be nice. I already use push calendar, contacts, and e-mail with gmail on my iphone, and so does my wife; it should be an in and out trip.
     
  21. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216
    I'm surprised BB isn't charging a $50 fee for "Geek Squad phone setup". lol
     
  22. joeyv69ragtop

    joeyv69ragtop Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    No kidding, considering they will have increased staffing in the mobile phone department and each appointment is up to 30 minutes, though they told me 15 minutes should be enough.
     
  23. tjwoo

    tjwoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    50
    Heh, I just received a text from my local BB where I preordered from telling me to have a gmail account ready because "We are expecting a high volume of customers and this would help speed up the process".
    I'll have no problem telling them I'll set it up my own saving them a lot of time :D
     
  24. jason.sgtski

    jason.sgtski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am pretty sure this courtesy is for the new to android customer. This will be my first android phone but i am pretty sure i can handle setting it up.
    What about a 25$ charge to have them bind your new bluetooth headset to your phone.
     
  25. Jedson29

    Jedson29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah, I work in Best Buy Mobile and I always ask first, if not, then I hit skip so they can enter it in later. Most people just want their phone right there and then.
     

Share This Page

Loading...