Best device for long term

Last Updated:

1. scottbg1

scottbg1 New Member This Topic's Starter

Hello, new to the forums and this is my first post. :)

I currently own a Blackberry Bold, through AT&T. I have an upgrade available and have been eyeing the android OS for sometime now.

I am a huge techy and I spend alot of time tinkering with my blackberry, as I have just about hacked it to death. :)

I am also a novice linux user, as is another reason I am so interested in Android and its open source roots.

My question is, out of all the phones currently available for Android, which is best suited for long term usability? Meaning, I know there are some devices being sold as the latest and greatest Android device, but I am sure they will fade away with thier Android support dying with it.

I'd like a powerful device, something functional for more than texting and chatting. Something that would be easily rooted (I use this term loosely as I have only read about rooting a phone to gain superuser access), and one that will still be a game player months down the road, and not obsolete a week after I buy it.

As far as comparisons, Samsung's new Galaxy seems to have the hottest processor right now, but will Samsung stay on top? Meaning, will it accept future versions easily and run them well?

My techy logic says to stay with something like the Motorola or HTC models as they have been the front runners up till now, as far as I have read.

If nothing currently on the market now fits this bill, is there anything you guys know of being released in the near future that would, that I should wait for?

I have been eyeing the Dell Thunder, but the same fear that I have for the Samsung comes into play. Will Dell be a strong contender?

I'm not naive in thinking that any one device is going to meet my wishes perfectly, but surely there is one out there now, or on its way to coming close.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Scott

Advertisement
  2. graff_king