1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Best GPS Back-tracker?

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

1. Glucklichste

Glucklichste Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I live in Alaska, and I often hike in the woods (the dogs love it!). There are a few places where it's weirdly easy to get lost, far away enough from anything that would help you know your orientation/direction.

I am new to Android (just got a Samsung Captivate), but so far I'm seeing parking type applications, that don't necessarily backtrack.

Is there any app that would really trace your same route backwards?

Straight line back to a starting point isn't practical in these situations! I've had dedicated GPS units that are rubbish when it comes to this, but I figure ... why not search/ask, if my phone could do this I'd be beyond thrilled.

Advertisement
  2. AFAngryWarrior

AFAngryWarrior Well-Known Member

The best one I've used for hiking the Mountains in Utah is Backpacker GPS Trails. You can find it in the Appmarket for $9.99 but I think they have a lite version to try first.

3. picko

picko Active Member

There's My Tracks which is free and there's Maverick both record your tracks so you can retrace your route.

4. Glucklichste

Thanks to both of you! I need to get better at searching for apps.

5. Benjie

Benjie Well-Known Member

If you are hiking in a remote area, you are better off with a standalone GPS, one that has the maps built in, et cetera.

6. Glucklichste

Obviously, but I'm not going as remote as you may think. It's just so easy to get far enough into woods that you could get turned around - has happened to friends/family, they go out for "an hour" and five hours later come home exhausted and flustered, LOL. I just figured if there's an app that can really trace your path, I'd try it and go ahead and use it when hiking.

7. SaleenFiend

SaleenFiend Well-Known Member