BEST MEMORY CARD for HTC Class 4 or 6?


Last Updated:

  1. Steelie

    Steelie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    Just a quick question,

    I've got to choose between 4GB Class 6 Micro SD and [http://www.play.com/Mobiles/Mobile/4-/11540417/PNY-8GB-Micro-SD-Memory-Card/Product.html]8GB Class 4 Micro SD[/URL]

    the more space the merrier, i can get 8GB for the same price as a 4GB if i get class 4 instead of 6,

    Will i notice a significant performance upgrade between class 4 and 6?
    I'm not intending to root or anything, just play media off it.

    I will run apps off it once HTC updates my android but i'm not going to fiddle until then.

    What do you think?
     

    Advertisement
  2. TheSultan

    TheSultan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    255
    I can't imagine you'd even see much of a difference between a 6 and a 2 even.
     
  3. rdelfin

    rdelfin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    The difference you will not see it instantly, but as you get to fill up the card, THAT'S WHEN you get to notice that in order for your phone to reach access to the data in a filled up card, a card of a higher class number and full of data will handle access (reading/writing) much more efficiently than a card of a lower class number full of data (again, this will not be noticeable if you compare the cards when they're empty, from what I understand).

    So, if your options are: A) a lower class card with higher capacity, or, B) a higher class card with less capacity, I would definitely opt for second choice (less capacity, but MUCH quicker access when filled).

    The best of both worlds is to find a higher capacity + high class card. I have a Class-6 16 GB card and I can't even imagine how painfully slow would be for the phone to read a 16 GB in a class 2 card that has been filled).

    Also, keep in mind that not all microSDHC cards are created equal, different brands have different results regarding errors when reading/saving, do your shopping and compare user reviews.
     
  4. james

    james Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    9
    I got that exact one, the 4gb samsung class 6. I doubt you would notice much difference either to be honest for everyday use. I got the class 6 because my Hero's rooted and I use apps2sd which requires a class 6, so if you ever decide to go down that route I'd go for the class 6.
     
  5. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    Read speeds will be tend to be the same as for a class 6 card, it's only the write speeds that get faster with higher class cards.

    But yeah, as the card fills up, that's when you start to notice write speeds going south.
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I've used apps2sd with a class 2 and class 6 and didn't notice any difference between the two when it came to apps. So I imagine the OP would be fine with either card in that instance.
     
  7. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    An 8GB class 4 works just fine for me using apps2sd.
     
  8. Steelie

    Steelie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool guys, I think I'm going to go for the 8GB Class 4 cos I'm not rooting or anything so just photos and music, i notice the odd jitter in my music if i navigate thru the menus and such i'm using the original 2gb sd that came with the card, although that might be processor lag.
    has anyone legitimately got android 2.0 or higher on hero yet? or will my phone tell me when it's available to download?

    also, i have switched off my wifi and gps location-ing in the settings menu, and also the always-on mobile network in the settings to save battery, am i missing out on automatic updates that way?

    also also

    does anyone know a good way of managing apps to make sure i dont get any sh*t ones, i'm using that antivirus free thing that seems to scan for dodgy apps atm.

    cheers guys love hearing from you when you know loooads more about this than i do
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    No the only way to get 1.6/2.0/2.1 onto a hero is with custom firmwares.

    I'm not sure how the update is going to be released and how the possible OTA updates might work. But rest assured, as soon as 2.1 is released I expect about a million topics about it will appear here :p
     
    Steelie likes this.
  10. Steelie

    Steelie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    sound

    didnt wanna be missing out
     
  11. amnesia

    amnesia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Corrected your statement ;)
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Ah of course, my mistake :D
     
  13. yadavarun

    yadavarun New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OMG :eek: i recentl buy a 8gb card of 2nd cladd when i don't know about all that.:confused:
    Thanks to this forum where i came to know that all.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...