Best phone for ATT 3G


Last Updated:

  1. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi everyone! Im finally glad to find a place on the nets that has dedicated group of folks, its been a while and im glad.

    So heres the deal. I live in alaska, and ATT is literally the best service provider here. Say what you want, up here is 3G is like godspeed. Compare it to San Diego, its like dialup compared to Cable.

    So my HTC Tilt is about to die, its torching my SD cards, so i want to get a new phone. I was going to get the TILT 2, but i figured i might as well upgrade to Android.

    So, what phone is the "best" phone for full ATT 3G (2100 quad band antenna). I've lurked on here and apparently Rogers phones work great. What would be a method for getting those? Unlocked?

    Are there any handsets that are comming out soon? I wanted Winmo 7 badly, but it doesnt look like itll be out till August, and my phone is about to explode lol.
     

    Advertisement
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  2. =KLRS=ZERO

    =KLRS=ZERO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    I would go for a telus milestone
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  3. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    so what i've been able to gather on info from the telus, it comes out Feb 18th. does anyone else think this be the perfect phone for me?

    and if this be it, how would one american get a milestone? buy it from their online store just unlocked full retail OR OR OR ebay it?

    -=-----EDIT-------
    would i have to edit/hack the phone to work completely with ATT?
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  4. =KLRS=ZERO

    =KLRS=ZERO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    yes, you would have to change the APN settings, cut thats easy peasy :)
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  5. Tenacious--M

    Tenacious--M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    What other Android devices might be coming out that can be used with AT&T's 3g? I have been waiting for the Sony Xperia X10, but it keeps getting pushed out and out. Im getting tired of waiting. If I wait that long, there might be a better option. Anybody know of what options will be avaialbe in the next couple of months?

    I want the HTC HD2 but its WinMobile and I want Android. I hear of HD2 Android devices like the Supersonic and Incredicble, but all the good devices seemed to be geared towards Verizon, Sprint or TMobile. Its very frustrating...
     
  6. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    So the Milestone came out today. does anyone think this should still be a good idea?
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  7. =KLRS=ZERO

    =KLRS=ZERO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    wait a bit, i got a feeling we might get legend or desire
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  8. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    cool, my phone is soo close to death i need a new one, sepcially for work now. just for information purposes, those APN settings that need to be changed, what are they and how do i do them?
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  9. =KLRS=ZERO

    =KLRS=ZERO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    go to Settings>Wireless Controls>Mobile Networks>Access Point Names

    next press the menu button and then "new APN"
    then fill in the apn settings as listed here:

    Name: ATT
    APN: wap.cingular
    Username: wap@cingulargprs.com
    Password: cingular1
    MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    MMS Proxy: wireless.cingular.com
    MMS port: 80
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  10. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    well ive gone and done it. my Tilt started deleting text messages and emails so i ordered the Milestone from amazon.

    FYI, get it from amazon, i got hit with over 70 bucks in Canadian taxes trying to get it from Telus.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  11. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    When did AT&T start using 2100? Are you sure its not 850/1900?
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  12. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    most (and my Tilt) HTC devices use the 2100 quad band antenna to get ATT HSDPA. And ifyou want full throttle 3g you need a 2100 antenna, one of the reasons i didnt get the nexus one is because it will only do Edge on ATT
     
  13. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Just because a phone "has" 2100, doesn't mean that 3G is used for that carrier. I'm thinking AT&T uses 850/1900 "only" (aside "possibly" for some roaming situations) as my Moto Q, and Nokia e71 have only 850/1900 for 3G connections:

    Choosing an AT&T wireless phone - Wireless from AT&T

    ...International Calling
    One of the best reasons for going with AT&T is its GSM network, the global standard. That means you can take your phone with you when you travel abroad. Keep in mind, however, there are several different frequencies and each one works in different areas.
    850 and 1900 MHz—These frequencies are commonly used in North America
    900 and 1800 MHz—These GSM frequencies are commonly used in Europe, Asia, Australia and Brazil
    Tri-band phones—These phones have three out of the four frequencies for international roaming
    Quad-band phones—These phones have the four most common frequency ranges, though there are other lesser used frequencies.


    T-Mobile USA uses 2100MHz (a "frequency", not a "quad band antenna type"), also used in Europe.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  14. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    well shit. lol you got me there. but still according to att's and googles documentation the nexus one will not run 3G. It was kinda designed for T-Mobile broadband.
     
  15. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Right, well documented that the N1 was developed for T-Mo's network, as far as 3G anyway.

    If you got the Milestone from "amazon.com", and are expecting it to get "3g speeds on AT&T", you will be disappointed. The Telus/Canadian version will be the only one to support AT&T's 3G network.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  16. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    how sure are you about the milestone from amazon not working. it says its full quad band on amazons site.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  17. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    shit its full quad band 2G...gotta cancel quick
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  18. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    where would one suggest getting the milestone from? i found a company on amazon that is selling the "3G" version, which i imagine is from telus. OH and telus wont accept US credit cards.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  19. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    http://androidforums.com/motorola-milestone/25020-milestone-3g-us.html

    In order for "any" phone to have 3G speeds on AT&T, in North America, it must support HSPA/3G on the 850/1900 bands. It may be "quad band GSM", but that just means that it will work on "Edge" speeds, for any networks using those bands (850/900/1900/2100).
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  20. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    i found one on ebay, these are the antenna specs.

    System:
    GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900, HSDPA 900 / 2100

    i got it in a DAY, and according to the sellers page it supports the right settings, but im only getting an EDGE signal on the top :(

    ALSO the backlight has been having problems out of the box, im going to return it straight up because of the screen.

    where/how could i get a legit telus milestone that i can use with full 3g in/on US ATT.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  21. JK_the_Slacker

    JK_the_Slacker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    You could just pick up a Motorola Backflip, which came out Sunday from AT&T.
     
  22. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    True, but the Backflip is a significant step down in performance vs. the Milestone, as far as the screen size/resolution, processor, and OS revision.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  23. JK_the_Slacker

    JK_the_Slacker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't heard a single complaint about performance from anyone who's owned one - it's got a similar processor to the iPhone 3G, as well as a similar screen size/resolution. True, it runs Android 1.5, but they're planning an OTA update to 2.1 within the next 2 months. The main draw is the fact that, being designed for AT&T's network, it will provide 3g speeds, which is what the OP was looking for. It's also significantly cheaper than the Milestone, which will come into play if he's planning on switching to Winmo7 when it comes out.

    Not trying to say that the Backflip doesn't have problems, just wanting to make sure all the options were on the table.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  24. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Fair enough...I still think it will not prove robust enough for the OP's needs, given that he's got (2) threads open about the Milestone, which is already purchased unlocked. I also wouldn't want to deal with AT&T's software lockdown/lockout on their branded phones.
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.
  25. ssjaken

    ssjaken Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    so for the record, the milestone i got was a big EFF up. even though the antenna and frequencies listed were right, i couldnt get 3G on it. AAAAND the backlight started freaking out and shutting down. So i had to mail it back to Hong Kong and i am currently waiting a refund.

    i checked out the backflip and it looks cool (idk if i like the motoblur interface though). The guy at ATT said theyre getting 2 more android handsets in the next few months and to wait. If i can find a legit milestone on the internet before then ill go with that, but im curious to see what ATT has comming down the pipe
     
    Tenacious--M likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...