Best rom?


Last Updated:

  1. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the best Rom (rooted) for the Hero. It does not have to be with sense. Just has to fast and as close to the real 2.1 as possible :)

    Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
  3. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice :D Thank you! :D

    Any very good screenshots or videos? Can't really find....
     
  4. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    It uses the stock 2.73.x ROM as the base, so looks the same with Sense UI etc, it's just much faster and has many things included in the core.
     
  5. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    But it isent 2.1 is it?
    Its just faster and gives acces to things I can't get here in Denmark like seach by voice?
     
  6. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    No sorry, totally missed the 2.1 part of your message.
     
  7. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
  9. RetiredFinally

    RetiredFinally Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    That is GSM ROM, won't work on CDMA Hero! Rather the radio, phone, won't work.

    I use Fresh 1.1 and it is quite smooth, of course the more things you install the slower it runs also.
     
  10. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    This is the HTC Hero (aka GSM) forum. The Sprint forum is for CDMA.
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    If you just want to go straight to the official one, just install it as normal. You would have to re-root the phone if you installed any official version.

    Using a custom ROM :) They're usually faster, and give you access to things like 2.1.

    If all you do is root the phone, I dont think you could. If you flashed a custom ROM, so long as you make sure you follow instructions very carefully you should be ok. The biggest thing to be aware of is that you should never pull out the battery if nothing seems to be happening; the first boot on a new ROM can take a while.
     
  13. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks :)

    I think I will just go for the modaco though :)
    Seems to be alot more stable and then i can just wait for the Modaco 2.1 or the htc 2.1 (;
     
  14. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about the apps2sd? How does that work?
     
  15. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I don't know how much you've read about it yet so you might not know what I'm talking about, but the Custom Recovery Image you use to flash the new ROM also has the option to partition your SD card. You just have to run that once and from them on apps get installed to the sd card rather than the phone. You can pick how much space you want to give up for the apps.
     
  16. monkegeo

    monkegeo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Some custom ROMs, e.g. Modaco, include Apps2SD that installs your apps to the SD card. This only occurs if you partition your SD card. This doesn't give any performance improvement as apps aren't installed to RAM and in fact it might slow apps down if your SD card is slow, but it does allow you to install more apps. If you want to do this read this thread. Look for the two posts by jUst2eXy. Best guide to rooting and ROMs I've seen.

    There are some caveats. I did this and then upgraded my SD card. This is a right royal pain unless you run Linux on your desktop and if you run Windows 7 it's worse so upgrade your card first.
     
  17. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, im planing on using the "theunlockr" way.
    So if I just partition my sd card it will automatically save apps to the sd card?
     
  18. monkegeo

    monkegeo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes. If it's partitioned that's all you need to do.

    Have a look through all the ROM guides. The sticky in this forum, the one I linked to and any others. For e.g. the sticky one has no notes on what your partition settings should be, but the one I linked to does. From all of these you can get a complete step by step guide. It's actually very easy (famous last words)
     
  19. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. Glitzerstrahl

    Glitzerstrahl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all, i was lurking this thread - im a user of an UK Orange 1.5 hero and am just slightly unsatisfied with the speed at which it takes to load and browse the music..ive tried every music app out there and have decided the best one is actually the stock one..

    do you think that if i use the phone mainly as a iPod replacement i can get better speed and performance out of a custom rom?

    (i use a class 6 microSD already)

    thx <3
     
  21. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    You will definitely get a faster phone with the MoDaCo ROM :)
     
  22. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
  23. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but I was thinking if the RUU he suplied did something different :p
     
  24. SmallGuy

    SmallGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I have flashed it and it's running fine (;

    But I don't see any more apps on the market. I know theres a trick for this but i just can't remember it. please help :)
     
  25. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I don't really know, never had a problem with the market myself, but is that what the Market Enabler app is for? It seems to come bundled with most ROMs (although not MCR).
     

Share This Page

Loading...