Best router for hero


Last Updated:

  1. sootman73

    sootman73 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats the best router to set up my own home wireless network to use with my Hero? my cell signal is not the best in the house and i already have high speed internet for the desktop. Before i start buying routers which ones do you guys prefer?

    and when it comes to routers i know nothing about them as i have never had anything that used wifi until now.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nellisere

    nellisere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do NOT get a zoom x6, i have that router and have not been able to succesfully connect to it via wifi, we also have a Livebox from orange, that works, and a d-link DSL-G604T, that works aswell, also the bt home hub (newest one) works, they are the only ones i have tried
     
  3. TheJock

    TheJock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have used various netgear DG series routers over the years with various phones currently have a dg834 no problems at all with hero, connects first time everytime and nice and quick. I recommend netgear to anyone who asks me
     
  4. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    I've got a Netgear DG834N, which is a brilliant router, BUT: it doesnt work with my hero if 802.11n is enabled, I have to restrict it to 802.11b/g for the hero to be able to connect to it reliably.

    To be fair, i think this more of a failing with the hero and n mode wifi in general, rather than a problem with that specific router - so would still recommend netgear in a second over most other manufacturers. Pain the the bloody arse though.
     
  5. KeithW

    KeithW Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a Netgear RangeMax WPN824 V2 at my house and the Hero hooks up to it just fine. It works all over the house. It only goes to G, not N, so can't comment on the Hero with an N router.

    -Keith
     
  6. adust

    adust Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with nellisere, my parents have a zoom x6 and that doesn't like the hero!
     
  7. richuu

    richuu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a TalkTalk / Huawei HG520b, which the Hero didn't like at all. I now have a Linksys / Cisco WAG120N, which it works flawlessly with.
     
  8. WP416

    WP416 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tested Linksys/Cisco WRTxxx series and SMC routers and they have both worked perfectly.

    W
     
  9. revel

    revel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have a Netgear WNR2000 works fine on N.
     

Share This Page

Loading...