Best video format and properties

Last Updated:

1. kasperknop

kasperknop Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Lets try to create a list of the optimal video format and properties a video must be in on the Hero.

Help me out here... I am really no expert so please let me know if I got something wrong.

I will try to keep this first thread up to date:

Container = .MP4
    Encoder = h.264
    Frame rate = 23.976(NTSC) or 29.97(PAL)?
    Resolution = 480 x 320
    Video bitrate = 500-1000 kbps
    Audio encoder = AAC
    Audio bitrate = 320 kbps

Advertisement
  2. cheggerspop

cheggerspop Well-Known Member

This is what I use -

Container = .MP4
    Encoder = MPEG4(DivX)
    Frame rate = 24
    Resolution = 320 x 480
    Video bitrate = 512
    Audio encoder = AAC
    Audio bitrate = 128
    Sample rate = 44100

3. quantumrand

quantumrand Well-Known Member

Container = .MP4 is supported
    Encoder = h.263 is definitely supported, but h.264 is better so try that first
    Frame rate = Standard NTSC? what is that? 23.4 fps?
    Resolution = 480x320 (wxh)
    Video bitrate = Anything above 1000kbps will be overkill (you can drop it as low as 320 if space is critical)
    Audio encoder = AAC probably
    Audio bitrate = 320kbps is probably ideal (192 if space is critical)

h.263 is definitely supported, but h.264 is a significantly better codec. Try a short clip in the h.264 format to see if it works. If not, h.263 is a perfectly acceptable format.

Edit: I can confirm that h.264 is indeed supported (says so on my box).

4. kasperknop

kasperknop Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Thanks everyone. Does anyone know any software I can use to convert and test?

EDIT: Nevermind found E.M total video converter =)

5. quantumrand

quantumrand Well-Known Member