Best way to install .apk files in EpicSupport

Last Updated:

1. Brian2071

Brian2071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

What is the best (easiest) way to install an .apk file on the Epic? I took Gary's offer for a free "paid version" of the xScope browser to all Android Forum users but have never tried to install an apk file before.

Any help would be great.

BTW...Anyone wanting a copy just email Gary at xscopebrowser@gmail.com
    Thanks

Advertisement
  2. YaBoiD

YaBoiD Well-Known Member

I use "ASTRO File Manager" from the Market & it works perfectly.
    Also, make sure from the homescreen to go to menu-applications-settings & check "Unknown Sources" to allow the installation of non-market apps.
    Here's the link: http://www.appbrain.com/app/com.metago.astro

3. Brian2071

Sorry but I'm a total noob to the Android platform. I am looking for a step by step guide to do this - if there is one out there. I downloaded Astro so I got that far. From this point on I'm lost.

Are there any how-to's for this or can it be explained a little more in depth.

Thanks

4. Kelmar

Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

Source of said offer?

Please respond and let me know or this will be assumed to be illegal distribution of apps.

5. Brian2071

Illegal? Did you read the post? It was from the developer. He has it posted on your forum more than once. Free to any Android Forum user.

I have his email address posted...email him and ask.

6. Kelmar

Do you have anywhere other than YOUR words that say that he is giving this away for free (anywhere on the forums even)? I do not know who the developer is so I cannot even begin to search for the said posts.

You have to understand that anyone can open a gmail account and say that they are giving away the app for free.... It all comes down to liability for the forums. If AF allows the app to distributed, it needs to know that it is LEGALLY being done.