Best way to upgrade from Neophytes 1.6 to 1.8


Last Updated:

  1. vistauser

    vistauser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    The title says it all really.

    I have carried out a nandroid backup and a titanium backup. Have also copied the contents of the SD card to my PC.

    Whats the best way to proceed?

    Can I just install the 1.8 rom, without formatting my SD card, so it overwrites the 1.6 version. Thus keeping all my apps and settings.

    Thanks for any help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You should just be able to just install the rom using rom manager over the existing rom, if theyre the same version of android. All that changes is the OS. Apps and data remain. You only need to wipe if you experience issues after doing this.


    If that fails, you can do a wipe and restore with titanium but I dont have much luck with titanium myself.
     
    vistauser likes this.
  3. vistauser

    vistauser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I need some help please.

    I have tried installing Neophytes 1.8, however I am having problems...

    In the reboot screen I get the following
    ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.1
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E:failed to seek in /cache/update.zip (Invalid argument)
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation aborted

    I downloaded the rom from the xda-devlopers site.

    The steps I took in rom manager ( V2.0.2.3) were
    I select "Install rom from SD card"
    Select rom from list, and press OK
    Leave "Backup existing rom" and "wipe data and cache" unchecked and select OK
    At the press OK to reboot dialog, press ok

    I have three directories on my SD card (when using astro), asec, sdcard and secrure. I have placed the rom in the sdcard directory, I am assuming this is the root.

    The software info for my phone:-
    Android version 2.2
    Baseband version 32.43.00.32U_5.09.00.20
    Kernal version 2.6.32.15-g1fc4045 htc-kernal@and18-2 #1
    Build number 2.06.832.1 CL207528 test-keys
    Software number NeoPhyte ROM 1.6 sense FroYo FRF91
    Browser version Webkit 3.1

    Any help would be appreciated
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Sorry but this post will be no help. I just thought its odd it states signature verification failed because ROM manager doesn't require your ROMs to be signed.

    Does the phone sill boot to 1.6? If not, boot into recovery and see if you can restore. Can you open the 1.8 zip file successfully on your computer (to ensure there is no corruption)?

    Try putting the rom back on the card and try again?
     
    vistauser likes this.
  5. vistauser

    vistauser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for your reply Dan.

    Yes the phone still boots into 1.6, so at least still have a working phone.

    I have successfully opened the zip file on my computer, and can browse the contents in winzip. I have also been able to open the zip file in astro (on my phone), and again I am able to browse the contents of the zip file.

    I have re-downloaded the zip, and copied across, that didnt work either.

    I am now going to try and install it without rom manager...will keep you posted. :)
     
  6. vistauser

    vistauser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    well that worked...or at least I thought it did.

    I have successfully upgraded to 1.8. However now the 3g connection does not work. Initially just installed the rom, as the radio was the same number. I then installed the radio and the rom again still no luck.

    I have checked all the settings and they seem to be correct. Any advice anyone?

    Thanks
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Have you checked your apn settings are still correct?
     
  8. vistauser

    vistauser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I thought they were :) Had a quick read on the xda site, and quite a few people had 3g problems. You have to re-enter your settings. So got them from the vodafone website. Problem solved, phone seems to be fully working now.

    Thanks for all the input.

    Just wonder why rom mananger didnt work.

    Edit - just noticed that rom manager has an update outstanding...wonder if that will sort out the problem.
     
  9. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I was wndering if Rom manager had been dodgy. I had to delete and reinstall it once to make it work.

    Glad its all working. Now, get me your quadrant scores please ;)
     
  10. vistauser

    vistauser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ran it 3 times got scores of 1103, 1404 and 1400.
     
    SUroot likes this.
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Cool cheers. I'm looking for something faster than what I have now. I miss the speed of my old Rom. This one is slower but really stable.
     
  12. vistauser

    vistauser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have read 1.8 is quite buggy, might drop down to 1.7. If I do, I will post the quadrant scores on here.
     
    SUroot likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...