Beta tester neededGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Looking for someone with a moment to test an update to my app Proximity Sensor, anybody able to help?
    Thanks
    Tom Reay
     

    Advertisement
  2. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I'd be happy to lend a hand!
     
  3. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, pm sent!
     
  4. shrike126

    shrike126 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I also have a Samsung Moment and wouldn't mind volunteering my services.
     
  5. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll give it a go if you like.
     
  6. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies, I've decided to post it here instead of sending out individual PMs

    So this is a Beta, meaning it probably won't work, if it was perfect it would be a final release! Now you are warned download it here:

    www.tomreay.co.uk/Prox Sensor 1.2 Beta.zip

    Can you give me as much detail as possible please!

    If it doesn't work please try the following (and tell me that you have done)
    1) Try it set to Motorola Droid and Samsung Moment on the main screen of the app
    2) Try menu->config
    3) Try setting the threshold to 99 in menu->settings->threshold

    Thanks
    Tom Reay
     
  7. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    What does you app do exactly?
     
  8. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1 ... I'd be willing to test it if I knew what I was testing for lol.
     
  9. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    It simulates a proximity sensor, using the light sensor, it locks the screen when the sensors covered (ie next to your ear) during a phone call

    Thanks
    Tom Reay
     
  10. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah gotcha. Does it disable the current proximity sensor on the Moment and use the light sensor instead then?
     
  11. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    ...? I'm curious why you are looking for beta testers in a Samsung Moment forum? Our phone has a proximity sensor... so the screen is going to lock anyways... am I missing something?
     
  12. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what I thought! But I keep getting emails from Droid and Moment users saying that they want the app to support their phones! Something about the proximity sensor being rubbish.

    Personally I'm not sure I would use it, but I might as well support it.
     
  13. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    AAAAHHHH. Yeah, it is extremely sluggish, and your program sounds like it would be very helpful... though I don't think that we can beta test it. It would be best to recruit hero users to test.

    What we really need is a tweak in the code (something in one of Zefie's Kernels maybe?) that ups the check time on the proximity sensor. Right now, when on a phone call, it seems that the proximity sensor only checks every 2 or 3 seconds. While on a phone call it should be nearly on a constant (every .5 secs). So if anyone knows how to do that, please look into it.
     
  14. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already test on the Hero, the app is in the market and working fine, the beta in this thread is an update which adds support for the Droid and Moment, hence posting in this forum rather than somewhere general.
     
  15. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    so does your app disable the prox. sensor that's already present before it takes over the light sensor?
     
  16. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    That would be handy. Also will it work while checking VVM?
     
  17. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently, it does not work with VVM

    And it does not disable the existing prox sensor, I presumed that was something you could do in the system settings?

    Can anyone actually test it for me? I'm happy to answer questions but I do want to get on with getting this working!

    Thanks
    Tom Reay
     
  18. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    that's why we're asking the questions... we can't test it if we don't know what we're testing for lol. I wasn't clear on what the expected behavior was, or what contexts it should be tested in.
     
  19. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh and no, there's no way (unless I'm just mildly blind) to disable the existing proximity sensor.
     
  20. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    It looks like your app works like a proximity sensor for phones that don't have one. The Moment has one.
     
  22. gallivant

    gallivant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    but its crap. if this works, it would be nice, but, i fear the lag will still be there because the hardware prox will still take 2-5 seconds to 'wake up' the screen on call. The moment currently is worthless for any 800 number calling where they have a menu system unless you put it on speakerphone or use a headset because it takes too long to wake up the screen.

    I'm trying to get to where i can test this because it would really be a godsend, but i'm still trying to get default apps off today. finally figured out how to flash new kernel just this past weekend... I'll test as soon as i figure out how!
     
  23. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    I just tested mine. It takes less than a second for the sensor to light the screen. Pull up the keypad, dial what you need to dial.
     
  24. Tom Reay

    Tom Reay Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh my, mods please close this thread, have asked elsewhere!
     
  25. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    Thank you for the interest in developing for our phones. Sorry about some of the answers you got here. I will try to test this out for you. Will hopefully be able to provide you some feedback tonight.
     

Share This Page

Loading...