1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Better Keyboard??


Last Updated:

  1. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16
    There's an app called Better Keyboard,...I was wondering (for those that have experience with it) if the keyboard inter-grades itself with every aspect of the phone where a keyboard is used?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jayziac

    Jayziac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes all Android keyboards do. Another free keyboard is HTC IME (better than better keyboard IMO). Do a search for 'htc ime' You may have to download the apk from xda-developers and install manually if it's not in the apps market.
     
    Upright likes this.
  3. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16

    Great,...thank you. :)
     
  4. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16
    Wow the HTC_ime keyboard is incredible thanks again. :)
     
  5. egemenbor

    egemenbor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    does the htc ime keyboard work with any model..i tried it on my sapphire and it doesnt seem to work even though ive activated it etc etc.
     
  6. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16
    Did you long press in the text field? Once you activate the keyboard you need to long press and an option menu should pop up then you can select the keyboard. ;)
     
  7. egemenbor

    egemenbor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep did that too still doesnt work..
     
  8. v941726

    v941726 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    i cant find a working "better keyboard". where do you get it?
     
  9. jonwlewis

    jonwlewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    I went to the Android Market and bought Better Keyboard. I love it. There are so many configurable options to it, including HD keyboard skins. I would HIGHLY recommend this program to anyone over the other keyboard choices.
     
  10. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    39
    Quick question on HTC IME, is this a mod of the stock keyboard only? I dl it and did notice some different features, but it's just a hack of new features on top of the stock?

    I currently use better keyboard, smart keyboard pro is very nice as well. The only reason why I use better over smart actually is because I use the underscore key a lot and better keyboard has this on its main keyboard.
     
  11. v941726

    v941726 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    is it better than shapewriter?
     
  12. androidized

    androidized Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have installed about 5 keyboard apps on my device. Slide it, Swipe, Better Keyboard were the most interesting.

    I think Swipe is the best, you can really type much faster with the technology.

    Better keyboard is pretty static, don't give me anything new, i find it hard to tap every letter. On swipe i press once and then move the finger, much easier.
     
  13. v941726

    v941726 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    i havent been able to get swype. shapewriter is good. its actually amazing how it can tell what to do with my scribbling. could use some more features like punctuation and stuff. but then, i havent even read any faq's yet
     
  14. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16
    HTC_IME keyboard, two reasons I really like it:

    1. I allows you to customize the distance between the keys,...which is great for someone like me with big hands. I'm coming from the iPhone and was really comfortable with the spacing between the keys and now thanks to the HTC_IME the keyboard feels better than the iPhone layout.

    2. Responsiveness. I haven't used any of the other keyboards like Better Keyboard or Swype but IMO the HTC_IME keyboard is super responsive when compared to the stock EVO keyboard.

    For all of you that would like to try the HTC_IME here is the link for the download over at xda. Once you download read the short "Read Me" file. Once you install the keyboard you have to long press in the text field to change to the HTC_IME :)

    [App] HTC_IME Mod v27 for EVO - xda-developers
     
  15. xmastree

    xmastree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have the same issues with my Magic. I downloaded and installed the file, long press on a text field brings up the menu with one option. Input Method. Selecting this gives me one option, Android keyboard.

    Am I right in thinking it should be listed there as an alternative?
     
  16. newyorkgreg

    newyorkgreg Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
  17. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    i just dl'd and installed ime and when i long press to select it, it shows up. once selected, i tap the field to make the keyboard appear, and nothing happens. any idea whats goin on?
     
  18. egemenbor

    egemenbor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    same problem im having you wouldnt happen to have a magic/sapphire/mytouch 3g would you?
     
  19. newyorkgreg

    newyorkgreg Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    I installed it but I'm not sure if the keyboatds changed. I adjusted the settings and everything as well. But I dint install the second file bc it said not to if I am using Sense.
     
  20. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16


    Did you long press in the text field?
     
  21. newyorkgreg

    newyorkgreg Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you. Works now.
     
  22. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    after doing a long press and selecting it, it then doesnt pop up a keyboard when i do a quick press. for some reason the click.apk file will not install on my hero. any help would be appreciated
     

Share This Page

Loading...