Better on screen keyboard?Support


Last Updated:

  1. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    (Thats free) Anyone know a good app that has a better on-screen keyboard that isnt "better keyboard" or the handcent keyboard. I kinda want to do "better keyboard" as a last resort because its like 3 bucks or something. Or should i wait for the 2.1 update?
     

    Advertisement
  2. njbianco

    njbianco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    8
    You can try the hero keyboard check out here to get it HTC Hero VK on Moment
     
  3. DoormanIsGod

    DoormanIsGod Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    He beat me to it. It actually works very well compared to the stock keyboard. it does suck in landscape but you can type an entire message on t9 quite effectively in portrait.
     
  4. dkjones96

    dkjones96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you are used to corrections when typing on the hardware KB do note that the Hero one will not correct it anymore.
     
  5. njbianco

    njbianco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    8
    i actually prefer the oem keyboard to the hero 1 or better keyboard but thats just my opinion
     
  6. MobstaJ

    MobstaJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    7
    I second Betterkeyboard. I had the htc hero keyboard but it recently threw an error in which it dumped a 200mb file that clogged up all my app memory (run a search and you'll see that others have experienced the same). Until then it was fine and dandy. The worst part about the error file is that it was located in a protected file area so you couldn't just delete it. It required rooting in order to fix. So now I'm a betterkeyboard fan. I find the newest version is just as good if not better than the HTC keyboard as far as functionality.
     
  7. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've never used an alternate keyboard, but often wonder why people hem and haw over paying for an app that costs less than a cup of fancy coffee at Starbucks. I know money can get tight, but I bet everyone who's reading this has wasted $2 or $3 on something much more silly than an app that might prove useful for the next one to two years on your phone.

    No offense if you really are in a situation where you cannot afford it, but I'd suspect that that isn't the case for anyone carrying around a fancy new Android phone with an equally fancy (and expensive) unlimited data plan :)

    EDIT: forgot to mention that it's good to support our development community as well! The more support they get the better the quality gets in general for 3rd party apps!
     
  8. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    Right on to the post above me. I couldn't agree more.
    So back to keyboards -- I use better keyboard, and I like it better than the stock. Anyone know if the Moment is going to be Multi-Touch capable once we get out upgrades (some time this year.....)? Last I heard, Samsung said they 'didn't know'.
    Here's 3 alternatives that I have yet to check out:

    ShapeWriter Shapewriter

    Swype looks a little better...
    Swipe

    This Crocodile Keyboard also caught my attention when they announced it last month. Anyone used this?
    Crocodile keyboard
     
  9. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm reasonably sure that the Moment is multi-touch capable once the OS supports it... so we're good to go once we're on Eclair or Flan!
     
  10. njbianco

    njbianco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    8
    its a capacitive screen so it most definitely should im 98.9% sure on that
     
  11. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay guys i tried both of the more popular solutions ("betterkeyboard") and the hero key board) and i definately like the hero keyboard better then the betterkeyboard because the hero keyboard can actually be calibrated! And it feels so much better. Betterkeyboard doesnt feel any better then the moment's stock keyboard. I would have to recommend the hero keyboard to anyone!
     
  12. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    actually the hero does auto-correct, at least for me?
     
  13. dkjones96

    dkjones96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm used to it correcting theyre to they're and dont to don't and it wasn't doing that for me with anything but the on-screen keyboard anymore. Maybe I had a setting wrong.
     
  14. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    I figure for all extensive texting, Moment users just use the moment keyboard. Meaning that short texts in portrait mode is the desired use for the on screen keyboard. Shapewriter works wonderfully for me in that type of situation. It's like slurring your texts with auto-correct. Simple easy fast and I think it learns your vocab too.
     
  15. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd really like to try the hero keyboard personally, but whenever I've installed it I get force close errors like every ten seconds when I activate it. Has anyone else had this problem... and even more importantly, have they been able to fix it?
     
  16. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    i didnt have this problem at all. what app are you using to install the .apk?
     
  17. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    the only time i use portrait is when i send short messages as you said, but i also use it when i only have one hand available as well. It takes me too long to type something out on the moment's stock on screen keyboard.
     
  18. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Agreed. IMO, the unique concept that Shapewriter uses is well organized with just about every attribute that could be desired. My biggest issue with it is that when I try to type "for" it always comes back as "four". Try it out and you'll understand why:eek: Anyways, aside from that, it's perfect for one handed use.
    P.S. another cool feature is that there is no need to use the spacebar. Just thought I'd throw that out there.
     
  19. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think both times I've tried, I've browsed to the apk using astro... which I seem to recall was the documented way to do it in the thread I found. It seems to install correctly as it shows up in my input methods screen to be enabled, but it makes my phone essentially non-functional as soon as I check it off.
     
  20. dkjones96

    dkjones96 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    7
    Do you deactivate the Android keyboard first?
     
  21. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    ah i see try using a app called "Appmanager for cupcake" it gave me no problems. When you save the apk to your sd card open appmanager and open the menu, then push "install", if nothing shows ups open the menu again and push "whole sd" (this will show all the apps). The apk should be there in the list somewhere. Now just click the apk file and push install (you might have to turn on the non-market app install setting) and it should work.

    Now just goto locale and set it as your keyboard, and on the keyboard itself set it as the keyboard using 123?. If there are any problems just ask. If this doesnt work, im not really sure whats wrong.


    Oh and i would recommend getting the calibration tool as well from the same forum. Just do the same thing and install it. cheers:D
     
  22. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    you dont have too, i actually have both checked off in locale&text just set it as your keyboard in the actually keyboard itself using "?123" (long press "?123" and choose touch input)
     
  23. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, tried AppManager and I get the same results. No idea what could be conflicting with it. Maybe I'll try downloading it again just for good measure.
     
  24. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just wondering -- is it odd that the Hero keyboard apk is over 4mb?
     
  25. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    I feel like bumping this, also, Swype is fun to use. =D

    Do feel free to PM if you want it and don't already have it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...