1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Better Programs


Last Updated:

  1. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    I do not consider my G1 to be a phone. My old second hane Nokia 6100 was a better phone because it was so small and light weight. Why I bought the G1 is because I consider my G1 to be a Mini LapTop. BUT we need better program for it. I need a graphic program like the Paint Shop Pro 4 where I can resize and fix photos. I still have not figured out how to connect to WiFi and call the USA for free (I am in Vietnam) BUT G Voice should be doing something in a few weeks. I will wait for them. Tonight I downloaded the USB connection program so my G1 can make my computer in my hotel connect to internet but edge network here is expensive. I did find a way to stop the phone from Sniffing the EDGE network. I mess up the name in the APN code by adding xxx to the end. Then it will not connect to DATA. This seems to expende the batter a long time too.
     

    Advertisement
  2. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    I also need Speed Dial and I need to fix websites so I need to be able to keep a HTML file on the phone and read/dispaly it in the Browser. But broser will not read a file on the phone it only wants a http:// conection. Anyone know how to get around this. Everyone is asking for Speed Dial and Video is a problem too. All of this should have been worked out by now... Instead programers are making Fart programs. I do not need a $400 phone to do that, I could just eat a Mexican lunch!
     
  3. RozzaC

    RozzaC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    10
    Why didn't you just buy a laptop and keep your old Nokia then? o.o

    I don't reckon the G1 could ever be a suitable replacement for a laptop... o.o
     
  4. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    Because a LapTop will not fit in my pocket... Come'on this software is great but us Mature Folks need copies of NORMAL software to run on it. We are not all kids out here. I should be able to save a website on my SD card and run it and repair it when I need to. It's all there EXCEPT the application... I live outside the USA and travel a lot. I have a business that uses a website to get orders. Thats why I bought the phone. It will come in time.
     
  5. RozzaC

    RozzaC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    10
    But a laptop will fit in a bag...which you can carry on your back or across your shoulder?

    You could always buy a small 11" or 13" laptop. That would fit in a bag nicely, without being too much of a problem.

    And what exactly is normal software?
     
  6. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    A Normal program would be something like Paint Shop Pro. A nice little Graphic / photo editor. Then I need a Browser that I can read an HTML file from my SD Card on. Finally I got FTP to work on the G1 So as of now I can keep a HTML file on my SD card , edit it wil a notpad program and upload it to my Server BUT so far I can not test it on my phone. I live and work in Asia and stay at $5 hotels. I would not leave a Laptop in my room.... Asia is cheap but so are the people. I am from the USA but will not live there... Because in the usa a cup of coffee is $5 ! Here I can get a Hotel Room for $5... and for another 5 I can get something else.....
     
  7. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    AndFTP does seem to be the best FTP client out there. It gets my vote.
     
  8. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes AndFTP. It works and the other one did not in fact today it told me there was an update and it still works after the Update. Sorry I have been offline. I am in Cambodia for some R&R.
     
  9. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72

    So basically you bought a cat, hoping it would be a dog. Since kitty isn't fetching, playing frisbee, or shaking hands, you're mad.


    Sorry, no sympathy, you should've read up on the device. 5-minutes of research beforehand saves you thousands of hours of headaches after. It's a smartphone, not a laptop. The smartphone hasn't replaced the laptop, not by a long shot. The G1 is one of the larger steps in that direction, but it's going to be several years (and at least a few handsets from now) before you'll get what you're looking for.

    Putting "should" in front of things doesn't make it so. I wouldn't expect Paint Shop pro, or Dreamweaver on a smartphone anytime soon. I have no idea why you did.
     
  10. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am not mad in fact I am very happy with the phone. It does most of what I need and there is always online graphic programs I can use. Also I downloaded Pic Say (?). It will resize photos so I can use it if I have to and fix things when I get to an internet cafe. With the phone at anytime I can get online and Delete the Spam off my unmoderated WWW Board and many other things. No it does not do it all but what does? Its just a matter of time before someone does make a great little graphic program. My only complaint is that most of the programs are made for Kids and not business people. But again it will come in time.
    PS, I have a "Kids Stuff" folder and a bunch of programs for when I need to break the Ice with them. Kids in Vietnam are great, very polite and curious. Thier mom's are too...
     
  11. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    The G1 isn't a business phone. That's been evident since the release. It's for the rest of us. Blackberry is for business (they do have a touchscreen now, btw)
     
  12. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    And Palm will soon join them with the 'Pre' ...
     
  13. sergey

    sergey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    29
    Who is us? Early adaptors? Android hippies against the Man, the establishment?

    You can't think like that- this "it's OUR phone, not yours" attitude is totally wrong. Android isn't a closed system, it's for everybody. So why can't business users add on programs for the business world? The beauty of Android is that it can be tailored for anything.

    Why not have exchange support, OpenOffice for MS Office file support, a PDF reader, etc? Is it really that inconceivable?
     
  14. budslife

    budslife New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    The 5.6-ounce G1 looks like a grown-up Sidekick. It's a rectangular black phone (4.6 by 2.1 by 0.6 inches
     
  15. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    Way to take what I said completely out of context.

    Smartphones were created for the business world. Blackberry, WinMo, they were designed with biz folks in mind. G1, by it's design, is one of the first smartphones that wasn't designed for business folks. By "us" I meant those of us who don't know what exchange is and have never used outlook.
    By the design of the G1, it's not a business phone. No native exchange support, no common desktop tools (word, excel, ppt), and includes features that your average biz person doesn't need like Youtube and the Amazon Mp3 store. When you look at what it comes with, pre-loaded, this isn't a business phone. This is a smartphone for "the rest of us".

    Does that mean that business folks can't have it? No, of course not. I never said "Not yours" that's YOU layering in your own bias. I never said anything of the kind.

    I never said it couldn't have biz apps, I just pointed out the transparently obvious: it doesn't come with biz apps. Haven't you read the forums? There's many a post with someone complaining "but if it doesn't have exchange, my company won't pay for it!!!"

    If you look at the advertising, and the native features, Google wasn't going for the business crowd with android or the G1. If they were, they would've included common business smartphone features. That's why I said "this isn't a business phone".
     
  16. sergey

    sergey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'm glad you came around and corrected yourself, punkzanyj. The open source nature of Android and the developers can tailor it to suit people's needs and wants. Remember, we're all in it to make Android better :D

    So back to the OP, paint shop pro is a bit out there now, but I can't imagine why a simple photo editor can't be made to run on a G1.
     
  17. diogenes

    diogenes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Tired,
    I have a new HTC Hero and cannot connect to KH Mobitel network. Can you let me know what setting I should use.
    Mobitel have given me the following:
    APN: cellcard
    Username: mobitel
    Password: mobitel
    Proxy: 203.144.95.100
    Port:9201 for WAP and 8080 for HTTP
    I cannot connect to EDGE
    If I put the SIm into my HTC3300 -it connects - (it does not use the proxy/port settings)
    I have tried as many variaotins as I can think of
    Advice woud be appreciated
     
  18. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Gary Glitter? Is that you?

    ;)
     
  19. Motjida

    Motjida New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sorry, but you strike me as a bit of a perv :rolleyes:
     
  20. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    You might have to go to their office. They have to give permission for the DATA to work. Now mine works both in Cambodia and Vietnam BUT sometimes when I cross the border by land I will need to wait till I get to a larger town for a DATA system to work so I can give Google my password again but phone can still call and send SMS. Also maybe some of the smaller companies might not have DATA. In Koh Kong Cambodia I could not get EDGE or 3G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...