Beware!!-HTC Tattoo India version (No 3g Support)!!


Last Updated:

  1. kashish

    kashish Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, I just purchased the Tattoo yesterday after checking specs worldwide and on all forums, and today I was going through the box specs it mentions support only up to EDGE. I was shocked and called the HTC helpline and was told that the India version does not support 3G !!!! what a low blow for us here.... This is after the store person checking specs. and confirming that it is 3g...Please can anyone throw light on this...I am saddended as I wanted a future proof phone atleast for a cple of years....Also if any developer or inside guy would have an idea whether this could just be a software limitation or even a hardware one...Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Why wouldn't it have 3G? are you sure you got it correct? :confused:
     
  3. kashish

    kashish Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is very confusing for me too, check out HTCs reply

    "Dear Kashish ,

    This is in continuation to our previous correspondence regarding your HTC device.

    We truly understand your concern and we apologize for providing you incorrect information. Please ignore the previous mail. We would like to intimate that, HTC Tattoo is not 3G enabled phone. It is Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz


    We look forward for your kind co-operation.

    Thank you and have a nice day!
    HTC
    Hotline: 1800 11 33 77
    Service Hours: 9.30 AM To 5.30 PM (Mon - Sat)"
     
  4. Huw

    Huw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    That's an odd reply; the Tattoo most certainly is 3G-enabled.
     
  5. jporch316

    jporch316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    4
    That is an odd reply - mine is most definately 3G - that email intimates that the tattoo as a model doesnt support 3g - it most certainly does
     
  6. kashish

    kashish Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah...beats me..the funny part is if u choose india as a loc on htc's website the 3g bands do not appear...this certainly isnt fair..my model no. Under the batt says a3232 is this the one u guys in the UK have?
     
  7. Huw

    Huw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    Where are you getting that from? Under the battery my phone has an IMEI, a S/N and a P/N, none of which look anything like that.
     
  8. kashish

    kashish Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    just waiting for my digicam to get handy, will post the pics in a cple of hours...ofcrse i will blackout the s/n and imei :)
     
  9. silentAssassin

    silentAssassin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys no need freak out ... the feature HSDPA is a 3G feature supporting 384kbps uplik and 7.2mbps downlink access, ofcourse it dependa on the network provider as well.......

    HSDPA which stands for High Speed Downlink Packet Access is a 3g technology evolved from its predecessor HSPA (High Speed Packet Access)

    U guys freaked me out when u "declared" that tattoo does not support 3g. Maybe the htc guys don't even know what thwy r dealing with.

    Refer following wikipedia link for more details .... do not forget to see the lists and categories of tech at the bottom of page ..... then u'll surely know that u didj't make a mistake buying tattoo....

    High-Speed Downlink Packet Access - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    "High-Speed Downlink Packet Access ( HSDPA) is an enhanced 3G (third generation) mobile telephony communications protocol in the........."
     
  10. kashish

    kashish Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. greaky

    greaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    Me and 3 of my friends were planning to buy a tattoo each in India... this thread has got me worried though.. any more updates guys ?

    It would be a shame if the Indian version does not 3g !! what a way to fleece indian customers.

    Moreover It's the only phone (android powered) in India that is decently priced.
     
  12. dhruv

    dhruv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys any update on this issue?is it software or hardware related problem
    if you know then plz inform because i am buying this phone coming week

    thanks in advance
     
  13. greaky

    greaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would think that it is a good idea to wait for a few more weeks... once the google phone is launched (nexus - one) the prices should fall for all other android phones..

    then you could probably buy something like a HERO or a MAGIC for more or less the same price .. this tattoo definitely seems like a dicey deal to me ..
     
  14. kashish

    kashish Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi greaky and dhruv, the phone most certainly isnt 3g i tried with an MTNL3G simcard, and since nexus one wont be selling in India anytime soon this is the only choice we have if you want to purchase an android phone with warranty etc. in a good price...ive been using the phone for over a month now and it is very good for the price...anyway itll b a while before we get 3g services here
     
  15. rs_saravanan

    rs_saravanan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Even I have checked the user manual with India one and UK one, to my surprise 3G details is not mentioned in Indian Manual. I trusted HTC and done all my checks in sites, but not gone thru HTC India website Specification before I brought this phone.... This is shame on me...

    Others, please check with reseller before you buy this phone... Don't get cheated by yourself....
     
  16. rs_saravanan

    rs_saravanan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dear Xyz,

    Thank you for contacting our Customer Support Center. We are dedicated to providing you with the best quality service and answering all of your questions and concerns.

    To clarify your issue, you stated that: You want to know that HTC Tattoo is a 3G enabled.

    Regarding this we would like to intimate you that HTC Tattoo phone that is launched in India is not a 3G enabled.

    If the above steps do not resolve your issue, we invite you to visit the support area on our Web site. Please go to: HTC - Support

    Or you can go to: HTC - Touch Phone, PDA Phone, Smartphone, Mobile Computer, select your country and then click on the Support tab.


    You can also call our Call Center at: 1800 11 33 77
    if you have further questions.

    Thank you once again for your continued patronage.

    Best regards,
    Neha Singh
    HTCCustomer InformationNameXyzTelephoneEmail Addressxxxxx@xyz.comCountryIndiaInquiry InformationInquiry TypeTechnical SupportInquiry DescriptionI brought HTC Tattoo after much consideration that it has 3G. Checked most of the sites. To my surprise I found that Indian version of HTC Tatttoo is not having 3G. Please let me know whether it is OS restriction or HTC tattoo that is sold in India does'nt have 3G feature?Issue Date & Time2010/01/25 16:08
     
  17. rs_saravanan

    rs_saravanan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Finally it is confirmed that Indian model of HTC Tattoo is not 3G model

    Dear Mr Saravanan,

    This is in continuation to our previous correspondence regarding your HTC device.
    In this regard,


    Sir, I would like to intimate you that 3G enabled device is supported by the hardware embedded in it. HTC Tattoo device that are launched in India is not enabled with 3G feature nor the hardware is present in it.

    If the above steps do not resolve your issue, we invite you to visit the support area on our Web site. Please go to: HTC - Support

    Or you can go to: HTC - Touch Phone, PDA Phone, Smartphone, Mobile Computer, select your country and then click on the Support tab.


    You can also call our Call Center at: 1800 11 33 77
    if you have further questions.

    Thank you once again for your continued patronage.

    Best regards,
     
  18. sudhakar64

    sudhakar64 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear All,
    I am one of the customers who has been taken for a ride by the HTC INDIA regarding the 3G issue. It is really a shame and insult. Why don't we together take legal action against such a fraud ? We are entitled for our money's worth. I am seriously contemplating a legal action through the Consumers forum. It is really disappointing and frustrating to know that after spending Rs.16500/- we have been fooled.
    Sudhakar S
     
  19. glidealong

    glidealong New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldnt help but fell dissapointed on learning this, even i tried contacting htc and they gave me call back telling that 3g is not supported in my tattoo. Now that everyone around me is surfing away with high speed 3g , it seems i am living in stone age, even my wife's samsung star 3g which was half the price gets 3g and android powered tattoo doesnt... crazy, any fixes possible? i just read here HTC Tattoo India version (No 3g Support)!! - xda-developers that it might be possible if we flash the rom? anyone here knows better?
     
  20. greaky

    greaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well I don't think flashing the ROM is going to help here.. the hardware required does not seem to be present.. but then thats my logic.

    BTW all the guys wanting a cheap and decent android handset in India or elsewhere should checking out the Samsung Galaxy SPICA I5700.. I bought it myself and I am very pleased with it. I have even flashed the leaked 2.1 ROM on it. :)

    Some specs :
    800 Mhz CPU !
    180 MB Internal Memory + 128 MB RAM
    1.5 Cupcake
    3g (3.6 MPBS)
    3.2 MP camera
    2 GB MICROSD
    3.2 Inch Screen

    I have even posted a guide on my blog for flashing the phone from 1.5 to 2.1

    Sameer Prabhakar - Mad Ramblings: Samsung I5700 (Galaxy SPICA) Android 2.1 Flashing Guide (Updated)

    And all this for INR 13000/- I don't think you would want a tatto after this.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers
     
  21. glidealong

    glidealong New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh man, you just poured diesel into fire... i feel wasted... i wish i could get my hands on the htc guy who decided to rip of the 3g from indians... what the....
     
  22. sanketcp

    sanketcp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Thank you guys for giving this important information. I was about to purchase this phone but now I'm giving a second thought.

    Just wanted to confirm one thing, I If I purchase this phone from US, can I access 3g by bsnl/mtnl here in India? It's on sell on ebay US for 285$. Quite cheaper as compared to India.

    -- Sanket.
     
  23. greaky

    greaky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why buy a tatto ? Like I said in my earlier post, the best thing to buy in India right now is a Samsung I5700 (Galaxy), it costs only about 13k and its got all the features a tattoo has and a bigger better screen + 800 MHz processor + 3g :) + The odd size of the tattoo is a real problem. A lot of apps are not compatible with that screen size.

    The next choice we have in india is a HTC Magic which is around 27K, hardly worth the price.

     
  24. rs_saravanan

    rs_saravanan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got A3232 model. This WCDMA network option came to me as surprise and checked with my colleague mobile who has same model. He did not have this option as I said before.
    Later we found how to get WCDMA option.
    Note: While changing the SIM card, this option got disappeared and we followed the following steps to bring it back;
    This is the steps
    1) Set the mobile to Airplane Mode
    2) Switch off the mobile
    3) Switch on the mobile now
    Now go to the following menu
    Settings >> Wireless Controls >> Mobile Networks >> Network Mode - Here you will find 3 options (Preferred Network mode)
    1) WCDMA Only
    2) GSM Only
    3) GSM / WCDMA Auto
    Please confirm whether you get above options

    Also try this URL:
    How to enable 3G in Google Nexus One Phone | Qcubicle
     
    babloo75 likes this.
  25. babloo75

    babloo75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes I do get these options, but the CDMA sim card doesnot work. Is there any way to get both sims working turn by turn?
     

Share This Page

Loading...