Big Problem that Needs more attention.Support


Last Updated:

  1. Blitzpwnage

    Blitzpwnage Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not recognizing Epic 4g as a USB drive - Page 3 - Android Forums

    This is a huge problem for a lot of people, including me. I have uninstalled my drivers re-installed them, turned usb debugging on and off, turn off my phone turn it on, restarted my computer. The whole 9 yards, and yet my phone will not be recognized as a masss storage device.....it is just irritating, seriously. Oh and I am using the official samsung cable, ANDDDD I have tried all the USB ports on my computer.

    Oh and mods, please dont move this. It needs a lot of attention and is affecting BOTH mac and windows users. :mad::confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. boomerbubba

    boomerbubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    40
    Windows 7 and Vista users should install the latest Samsung driver, dated Sept. 1.
     
  3. pflol

    pflol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    44
    After I did this it works flawlessly on both my laptop and pc everytime I plug it in. Win7 ultimate 64bit, WinVista ultimate 64 bit.
     
  4. bdforte69

    bdforte69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    28
    Windows 7 64 bit, as simple as plugging in the USB cable and clicking Mass Storage on the EPIC.
     
  5. Blitzpwnage

    Blitzpwnage Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    7
    Unfortunately it is not that easy :( . I think I am going to just uninstall all the drivers and what not and then plug the phone in and let Windows 7 try and work its magic. Like I said I have tried up to everything.
     
  6. <=U=L=T=R=A=>

    <=U=L=T=R=A=> Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have vista...my motherboard and os is up to date... And i have the samsung driver that was released on the 1st and tried uninstalling,restarting etc :mad: and nothing..cannot connect:confused: I gave up.

    Many users have this problem..we are not alone..hopefully samsung will address this issue. If not fixed by my 30 day return ..sadly its going back:(

    (Oh:D by the way this is my second EPIC the first one, the soft home keys did not respond at times. So I exchanged and so far buttons work on the second epic..This is another problem people are having)
     
  7. BigD562

    BigD562 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    30
    For some reason I'm having the same problem. So for the moment I'm using Dropbox app and software to get things I want on my phone.
     
  8. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165

    Ummm you may be over looking one simple little step. Are you pulling down your notification bar, after connecting your usb cable. once you pull your notification bar down, click "usb connected"....then the phone will promt you to "mount"...click mount.. now your computer should allow you access to your phones SD card as a mass storage device.
     
  9. NemesisDesignz

    NemesisDesignz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have same issue on Vista 32 sorta..... i have 4 USB ports on my pc.... 1 on the left off by itself gives me device malfunction...its normally port i have my external HD hooked to........ but if i plug it into another USB port it works fine.... gonna install Samsung driver and see if that fixes that one port.. very strange it works on 3 but not that 1..
     
  10. landslide03

    landslide03 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    i had the same problem, i tried using the new update from their websight but still nothing. It wouldnt work on both win xp 32 bit and windows 7 64bit. once I got it to read the drive but when i clicked on it on my computer it froze my computer up. It was soo frusterating, i couldnt use the phone i just paid $398 for. I brought it back to sprint and told them. I was just over it, I could do more things with my rooted palm. They tried to charge me a restocking fee, I complained and told them it was defective. Finally they waived the fee. I am glad i got my old palm back. I used to have the instinct and samsung never came out with any updates so i will see if they fix this thing before i get it again.
     
  11. Android XTC

    Android XTC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    42
    I have two Laptops, one with Seven one with Vista no problems connecting to the phone at all.
     
  12. jfenton

    jfenton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    14
    I had no issues on either an ancient XP SP2 or on my Widows 7 64 bit at home. Make sure you install the correct drivers.
     
  13. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just plugged mine up just to see what happens...I am running Windows 7 64 bit. I plugged it in, I pulled down the drop down, it asked, charging mass storage and tethered...I choose mass storage, and my computer instantly showed the autoplay dialog
     
  14. Fangarr

    Fangarr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have Windows 7 x64 and the phone has connected perfectly every time using the default drivers installed by the OS.
     
  15. <=U=L=T=R=A=>

    <=U=L=T=R=A=> Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    The samsung driver does not support all computers.

    Dell xps 730x ..did not work

    Dell inspiron laptop running windows 7 fail also

    MAC Pro also fail

    Dell precision running xp 64... It Detects it :D

    At least one of my computers detects and runs flawlessly.
    Although my files are not on this computer .
    Lucky me I have all the pc's on a network:rolleyes:

    Samsung needs to come out with a second driver to support more computers:(
     
  16. Pitbull329

    Pitbull329 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had no issues connecting my epic to my laptop. Its running windows 7, I didn't get any samsung drivers or any other stuff to get it to work. Worked right out of the box :)
     
  17. Xenx

    Xenx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have Win7 64, and I have seen it have trouble. It connects most of the time. However, I've had similar issues with every single smartphone. Sometimes, they just don't connect correctly. Now, mind you, I've had this issue over the course of multiple computers.. just all with Vista/Win7. Never seem to have the problem with XP.
     
  18. dblankenburg

    dblankenburg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    No luck here either. I have a Vista 64 bit and an XP service pack 3 machine and neither will work with the correct driver installed and the mass storage option selected. I've checked the USB debugging suggestion as well. I get a USB device not recognized error on the XP machine and while the Vista machine finds the drive, it shows 0 bytes used and 0 bytes available.
     
  19. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Unfortunately, that's not the way it works. Just because it needs attention does not mean it should be posted in any old category.

    This is a Support/Troubleshooting thread so it belongs in Support/Troubleshooting. This makes it easier for EVERYONE involved and allows future users (who search prior to posting) to search in the correct categories for the answers to their problems.


    Thanks for your understanding! :)
     
  20. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    Fyi I had the same problem on my win7x64 laptop. Oem cable didn't work as did two others. Tried a 4th cable on a win xp sp3 laptop and it worked fine. Used that cable on the win7x64 laptop and it workd fine. Then I went back to the other cables and they all worked. It was really weird. That 4th cable would even say usb connected when just plugged into a usb charger. Really odd.
     
  21. dkaile

    dkaile Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    for fixing this issue -
    dial ##8778# in dialer
    set USB to PDA
    done
     

Share This Page

Loading...