big setcpu problem for me


Last Updated:

  1. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    ive used the dmupdater to flash sholes 2.0.6 now with setcpu i setup my profiles i have it at 600 while charging but for some reason its not doing so

    ive reinstalled and installed setcpu several times to try to sort this out

    i have it at 800 normally and thats where its staying even though my profile is set for 600 when charging in the top right corner in the green it shows that its at 600 but on the left in white it shows it at 800 then i go into system info within setcpu and i see that its registering 800 so thats how i know its not 600 even though in the green it says it is

    what can i do about this this anyone else having this problem..i need to fix this
     

    Advertisement
  2. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    36
    Whatever your widget shows it at, that's the speed it's running. When you open setcpu, it will say in green the speed also, ignore the white numbers. That said, if you plug the phone in while Setcpu is open, it will not update. You have to back out of the program and open it again for it to refresh. If you are reading the systeminfo screen (the BogoMIPS entry), that also will not refresh unless closed and reopened after you unplug/plug it in.

    Edit: I completely forgot you just need to hit refresh, don't need to restart app. If nothing changes and it still says 800 when plugged in.. then I don't know the reason.
     
  3. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did this and still same problem my phone is defintly runiing at 800 when it should be 600 exited program and everything is the same and phone is running hotter then it should then i wwent back to previous version of sholes and everything is fine
     
  4. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    36
    Sounds like something got messed up in the update, mine does that often, however a few reboots or a battery pull usually fixes it. Never had the problem with the clock settings not working though. The phone really shouldn't get hot at 800, so it was likely the update. At 1100 mine barely gets warm unless I open up a game or other intensive app.
     
  5. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    Only gets hot at 800 if its charing at that speed thats why its important for this to work cause i use the phone alot when its chargin
     
  6. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    just updated to droidmod 1 and still have this problem..and i know its truely not setting it to 600 like my profile is set to because like i said system info shows 799 and then i do a linepack test when charging and results are consistent with what 800 would be not 600
     
  7. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    this is not correct.

    the issue is with the kernel they are using. tasmanion_droid's overclocking kernel has this issue, it's a known problem. sholes must be using his kernel.

    if you switch to AdamZ kernel you will no longer have this issue. here is a link to AdamZ kernel:
    http://alldroid.org/viewtopic.php?f=311&t=2463
     
  8. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    if there using his kernal and its a known issue other people should check theres out the way i am

    installing this new kernal looks scary to me lol
     
  9. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    I am having the same issue.

    Works fine with no profiles set.

    As soon as I set a profile, it's 600 max.

    :(
     
  10. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    if its 600 max then how is that the same as what im saying

    im saying my normal speed is 800 i have it at 600 for every profile so when i charge it i want it to be at 600 but it doesnt go to that it stays at 800 instead
     
  11. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    people don't seem to be making a big deal out of it and i don't know why. i sure as hell didn't want my phone stuck clocking at frequencies i didn't want.

    you can switch to AdamZ Smoked Glass v4.5 rom or Pete's Bugless Beast 1.0 rom if your scared of swapping kernels. both of those 2 roms use the same fully working kernel that supports cpu temps via "tempmonitor" and setcpu works as it should with it.

    i personally am running AdamZ Smoked Glass v4.5 and absolutely love it. it's a great rom.
     
  12. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    i agree i dont know why people arent seeing a major problem with this cause like i said there has to be alot more people with the problem and to me its signifcant cause whats the point of setting these profiles then to safeguard everything if there not going to work
     
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Well, these things aren't perfect. Fabulous and I were seeing WiFi issues with Pete's 2.1-based BB 0.3, but others were not, and others were seeing a constant boot-loop when upgrading the kernel in Pete's 2.1-based BB 0.3 to ChevyNo1, whereas neither Fab nor I saw that boot loop occurring.

    It seems to be hit and miss, but I wonder if it has to do with manufacture date, or something more complex....

    Could it be that the hardware in each of our phones is not 100% identical?
     
  14. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    yup, i had this debate about a week ago. i was actually the first to notice it and was posting about it all over droidforums.net and alldroid.org and nobody was believing me at first. then suddenly a slew of other people started realizing it and also posting it all over the two forums i mentioned. pete has stopped using the broken kernel and has since switched to AdamZ kernel which works perfectly.

    not to put more scare into you, but the one day i used the broken kernel, my battery life was also cut in half.

    like i said earlier, if you don't feel comfortable swapping kernels you can swap to AdamZ or Pete's roms and they both contain a fully working kernel. pete's will be very simple for a newbie to install if you choose the update.zip method. AdamZ rom is only installable using the nandroid method.
     
  15. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    glad to know im not alone can i have a link to the threads for both of those roms please so i can look them over
     
  16. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
  17. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    k thanks for the info ill check them both out..and im hoping that the droidmod team will also try to fix this either way
     
  18. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's not considered a major issue because it isn't in most cases. If you aren't actually putting a heavy demand on the cpu while you are charging it isn't going to develop a lot of heat. We, Bugless Beast users, were stuck with this bug for quite a few days and my phone, which I charge every night all night, was at the same low temp it is always at in the morning when I would take it off charge.

    While charging, you can open SetCpu/System Info/BogoMIPS and there will be the exact clock reading for your phone.

    Everything I've read from developers says that they do not increase the chip voltage until about 900 Mhz. If that is indeed true, then seems to me there's not much to worry about at 800. Also note that there are individuals that are running 1100/1100 all the time on their droids and not melting anything. There was a guy today, I think it was on Droid Forums, running that and no profiles. So some non-active 800, even for long periods, is not going to kill your droid. I charged for 2-3 nights in a row at 800 - no biggie.

    Change roms or change kernels. There are instructions all over the place to do both. It is a bug in some of Taz's kernels (as I understand it). Alldroid has some real good ones. Droid Forums has a good hack section too.
     
  19. nnklem

    nnklem Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Deleted by user
     
  20. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeah i get it being no problem while its charging with not touching but like ive said i use my phone while its charging so it tends to warm up quicker atleast as far as tempmonitor is concerned
     
  21. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    yup, quite often i fall asleep while listening to some music using DroidLive. i'd hate to wake up the next morning to a burnt up phone. i didn't feel safe with the profile not working.
     
  22. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4
    You know they don't just keep getting hotter and hotter. My droid goes up to a certain temp based on what I'm doing and then it stabilizes. Doesn't yours do that too?

    Also, how demanding could streaming music be for the Droid at 800Mhz?
     
  23. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4

    Look, I'm not saying leave your phone like this forever. But if you don't get around to changing the rom or kernel until tomorrow, I would not worry about it.

    Put your phone on the charger and then check the temp after 30 minutes, 45 minutes, 60 minutes.... you get the idea. See what it does. I think real data will reassure you.
     
  24. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    well i don't have to worry, i'm on a working kernel.

    all i know is that the phone can get pretty warm when charging, why let it get hotter than it needs to be.
     
  25. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4
    My battery gets a little warm, but my processor doesn't. Even when it was charging while at 800 Mhz, the processor did not get hot enough for me to notice it. Every morning I take the phone off charge on my way out of the bedroom. I sit down and read the forums while having my morning cup of tea. I do pay attention to the chip temp, but I never even look at the battery temp. My chip is normally at 65-72 degrees in the morning and I don't remember it being any higher while charging at 800.

    Also, I think I would have noticed if the chip was abnormally high because we, the Bugless Beast 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 users, were discussing this problem ad infi-nauseum every waking hour.

    Get some real data and let us know what it is.

    Hell I'll go do it right now. I'm going raise my charging profile to 800 and go put the droid on charge. I'll report back soon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...