Bing Voice Search...


Last Updated:

  1. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    The more I think about it, the more I don't THINK I'm upset about Bing being the default on the Fascinate. Other than being able to say "Navigate to Starbucks" right from the search button, what can't it do? I mean for the "Navigate to Starbucks" I can just press the Google Voice Commands widget that I can put on my desktop right?

    I mean, I've used Bing search on the PC and it isn't that bad. What functionality are we missing if I use Bing search, put the Google Voice Search widget on the home screen and then make Google Maps my default?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Miky1

    Miky1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do the same thing. I'm amazed how good the voice function is. I use it for texting because I still haven't gotten used to the keyboard, even after a week of use.
     
  3. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah outside of the purist's I think many just object to Bing on general principle that Google is not default on an Android phone. Its particularly worse on the SF compared to other Galaxy S's where they didnt bing it or reduce the internal storage by 75% of spec; but those are VZW issues not Samsung.
    Overall yeah [even though I did get rid of Bing in favor of google-everything] I used the Bing a few times and it seemed decent enough.
     
  4. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just played with the Fascinate in a VZW store and the thing seemed REALLY SLOW. Pressing buttons took awhile to register, Bing Voice Search seemed to take abnormally long to return results... I then tried an Incredible and a Droid X and both seemed MUCH fast.

    Could this be because everyone is futzing with the Fascinate or something?
     
  5. shazbonk

    shazbonk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Maybe, but also touchwiz just seemed laggy to me anyway. As soon as I started running Launch Pro everything was way smoother.
     
  6. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've had the chance to play with a Fascinate in store a couple of times and then the other night when a friend showed me his. My feelings so far are that Bing Voice Search and regular Search are severely inferior to Google in every way. We were in a somewhat loud bowling alley and I started Bing Voice Search and it wasn't even close to understanding what I said, but Google Voice Search picked it up relatively easily.

    The other somewhat noticeable thing is that any of the Fascinates I've played with seem slow. Like, pressing buttons doesn't load things up right away, pressing the search soft button takes a second to register, it just seems a bit lethargic.

    I feel like I can edit the Fascinate (add Google Nav, add the voice search icon, root if i want to so that I can change the search botton), but the bones of the Fascinate are still Bing. Voice to text for text messages, in browsers... all that is still Bing, which is VERY crappy.
     
  7. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
  8. esn

    esn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    48
    Bing Google who cares as long as it does the job! I haven't had any issues with my Fascinate at all and Bing works just fine!
     
  9. SirKronan

    SirKronan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    196

Share This Page

Loading...