Birdmans new rom flyX


Last Updated:

  1. soapinmouth

    soapinmouth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    56
    flyx v1 coming soon birdman says its going to blow our minds guess well see soon.
     

    Advertisement
  2. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    he hasn't uploaded it yet, he was but then he found a bug an now he is bughunting
     
  3. haevn

    haevn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    3
    bah we need it now!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :p
     
  4. soapinmouth

    soapinmouth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    56
    Yeah I'm curious as to what optimizations he did to the rom and having it pre deodexed will be really nice for theming it.
     
  5. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Looking forward to this!
     
  6. topdj

    topdj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    no leave him alone perfection takes time :)
     
  7. drybin

    drybin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    wait so custom roms are a go on the dx? is this vanilla 2.2 rooted? idk many details, so can someone fill me in?
     
  8. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    custom roms are a go, just not custom kernels...yet:D
     
  9. Retrokid223

    Retrokid223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    16
    imagine the speed of a custom kernel lol
     
  10. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    imagine the battery life of a low voltage one:D
     
  11. draconius

    draconius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    3
    Looking forward to this since currently I have a couple performance bugs.
     
  12. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I have got a huge increase in battery life just using SetCPU to underclock when my screen is off. Low voltage I could probably leave my phone unplugged for days!
     
  13. drybin

    drybin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    how good is SetCPU in saving battery? and what would the kernel/voltage do in terms of helping battery life? why can't we do custom kernels but we can do custom roms? whatever happened to that efuse/encrypted bootloader argument against custom roms, but now we can have custom roms?
     
  14. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I could drop 10% an hour without using my phone, with it underclocked i drop less than 10% in 3 hours if i don't use it.
     
  15. izomiac

    izomiac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    21
    My understanding is as follows:
    • The bootloader will refuse to flash any disk image to /system or the bootloader itself unless it is signed by Motorola.
    • The bootloader will check kernel version and flags and refuse to boot one that doesn't match what it expects.
    • The bootloader does not check the contents of /system, so we can use root to change those as we see fit.
    • /system is where all system files reside, so changing that is what a ROM does (minus the custom kernel).

    Really, "ROM" is a misnomer. /system can be mounted RW, and you don't need to reflash to alter it. It's basically like the C:\Windows directory on your computer. "ROM" is a carry-over from when phones were less similar to desktop computers (technically, from back when it really was read-only memory). Nowadays, they're basically identical with the exception of motherboard and CPU architecture.
     
  16. tmushy

    tmushy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you dont mind could you please list your set cpu settings
    This would be a great help to all of us. I too drop 10% an hour sometimes without doing anything.


    Mastermind seems that people are having good luck with this setup Temp > 49.8 C: 300mhz max, priority 100
    Charging/Full: 1000mhz max, priority 98
    Screen Off: 300mhz max, priority 92
    Battery < 40%: 800mhz max, priority 50
    Battery < 25%: 600mhz max, priority 65
     
  17. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    10% an hour of non use isn't right. I don't use setcpu and the 10% per 3 hours is about right for me.

    The CPU clock speed is dynamic to start with and can easily drop to almost zero when sleeping. How do you know your, "under clock", isn't really and over clock? In other words if you have it set to say 300 you may actually be preventing it from dropping lower? Or is what you enter the max clock speed?

    Oh I see from the above post its the max....
    Which leads me to my next question. Why buy a 1ghz processor if you are going to underclock it? I'd rather have it run full speed and buy a charger... But that's just me

    I'd really like to see someone do an actually test with and without do see if it really does help.Frankly I don't see how they could help unless you have an app that's preventing your phone from sleeping and if that's the case I'd remove the app not cripple all the others.
    Well..... I guess it would save battery if it's under clocked with the screen on, but like I said I'd rather buy a charger or have it set up to manually turn it on if I don't have access to a recharge and won't for some time. I mean I bought a 1ghz phone for a reason and it wasn't to make it a 500Mhz one.. :)
     
  18. moondrius

    moondrius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    117
    I have mine set the same way and has lasted almost 3 days so compared to how it worked before I can say it is a big improvement.
     
  19. tuftslax

    tuftslax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Agree, I want my 1ghz phone to run AT LEAST 1ghz. I actually have mine overclocked to 1.1 and undervolted (the main reason for it) but I stay away from setCPU profiles. The only one I have is screen off 300 max/min and thats only recent to kind of test the results.

    I have no interest in decreasing speeds as my battery drops for the purpose of making it last longer.
     
  20. travishamockery

    travishamockery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    20
    I really like being able to underclock it as the battery gets too low to conserve it. My thoughts being when I'm stuck out somewhere and it's not feasible to charge it, I know I can get it to last until I get home. I would rather a slightly slower phone that I can still use then a faster phone that won't let me make a call....
     
  21. izomiac

    izomiac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    21
    Undervolting is a good idea, but underclocking makes me wonder. CPU power use and clock speed aren't linearly related, running at 300 MHz uses much more than 30% of the power that 1 GHz requires. So if you underclock you force the CPU to stay running for much longer, which should increase power use. You also keep your screen on longer, SD card powered up, NAND in use, etc..

    Besides, the CPU handles underclocking automatically. If 300 MHz would suffice for a quick calculation then it won't clock up to 1 GHz. Normally I'm a proponent of manual control for advance users, but in this case there'd be very few situations where it'd help since the changes are millisecond-to-millisecond. Perhaps if you had a process using 100% CPU at all time it'd help, but that's not really something you'd want if you care about battery life.
     
  22. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    This thread has gone waaay off topic, but since we are talking about it, how do you undervolt the X?
     
  23. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    246
    chrlswltrs... ur running froyo. Now way right now to overclock/control voltage as of right now.
     
  24. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Two words
    Bigger battery:D

    oh and where is that ROM Mr_Birdman?
     
  25. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I don't want him to rush, I will be happier waiting a few more days and not having bugs on a Vanilla Froyo ROM
     

Share This Page

Loading...