• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Black Screen of Death?

omgitslian

Lurker
Aug 8, 2012
Hi, guys. I'm a noob, so please be kind. Harsh words will be met with witty comebacks. :p
Anywho you're probably going to hate me because I don't actually remember what I did to my poor phone to break it in the first place (it was months ago) and I've only just now become ambitious enough to try and salvage it. I tried to root it and originally had gotten it stuck booting only into recovery (I had CWM at the time). Yesterday I had the bright idea to have another go and now have it stuck in the black screen of death. It plays the cheesy startup sound when you turn it on, but the screen stays black as night. If I boot it into recovery I still can't see anything, but I can access the phone with adb.

The problem I'm stuck at is "adb shell" gives me "-exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: no such file or directory (2) -

One solution I tried is "adb push i:\sh /system/bin" which gives "failed to copy 'i:\sh' to '/system/bin': permission denied"

A solution to that which I've tried is "adb remount" which yields "remount failed: operation not permitted"

"adb root" works perfectly well, and before the black screen of death "adb shell" worked but su didn't work (don't ask me how, I'm sorry but I don't remember the exact error message).

I'm sure my procedure is all very circular as I actually know next to nothing about any of this, but all the solutions in these threads seem to bank on yet another capability my phone is currently lacking. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Oh, as a side note I managed to wrangle COT onto my phone and I think that's the recovery it's still running now.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

If your phone's rooted then adb shell should give you a # output. This is normal and expected. If after typing in adb shell it doesn't give you a # output then the next step would be to type in su.