Black SpotsGeneral

Last Updated: 2014-06-25 14:59:36
  1. dbvirago

dbvirago Well-Known Member

I have seen threads on here about black spots when the screen is dark, but I have large black splotches on a normal screen. There is now a third. Has anyone else experienced this? Has anyone seen this on a bionic?

[​IMG]

Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

Never seen that on my phone. You say this is your third replacement phone and all three have had this issue?
  3. dbvirago

No, sorry. I have a third splotch on this phone. It started as a single black line. The black lines grew and spread and then rolled up into a spot. Then a second spot appeared. They have been there for weeks. A third spot sprang up last week.
  4. BigRedGonzo

BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

Did you try wiping them off? Just Kidding...

Are they there all the time? It looks like a hardware issue to me, but I'm far from an expert. Are you rooted? Whether you are or not, have you tried a factory reset back to stock? I jumped in here because I've never seen anything like that before. I've seen black lines and dead pixels, but not black splotches. You may have to try getting a replacement through Verizon.

BigRedGonzo
  5. Lars

Lars Well-Known Member

You cooked the LCD panel and broke the liquid cells. The only way to fix that is a new panel. If you leave your phone in hot places like on the dash in your car it will be prone to this. Might I suggest a Razr with an AMOLED screen next time? That way you will just cook a battery.
    eklapointe123 and johnlgalt like this.
  6. dbvirago

Thanks. Phone is always either in my pocket or on my desk. Never left it anywhere hot that I remember. The last one happened during a flight - would altitude/air pressure do it?

I'm getting a bionic in a day or two. How is the screen on it?
  7. Lars

Lars Well-Known Member