• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Blackberry user thinking of jumping ship...

Chrispmoto

Lurker
Sep 8, 2011
Hi all, first post here!
I have an old Blackberry Tour, which, actually, I have liked, alot.
However, it is old now, and I have been looking at Android. I am very new to this, and have a few questions. I am leaning towards the Galaxy S2.
My main priority is email, but I am not a professional.
I like to play music.
I like to browse the internet.
I do NOT play games.

1) On my BB, as soon as I get an email, I am notified. By sound, and a flashing light. Can the Galaxy notify me when new email arrives, or do I have to manually go into a screen to check?
2)Itunes. I have been reading this forum and others, sounds like Itunes doesnt play well with Android. Can I make it work reasonably painless to download Itunes to this phone?
3)Is the keyboard OK? Can i download an application to give the keyboard a comma,or do I have to go into a different screen (shift) to get my comma for typing.

Is this a great phone for playing music and emailing, or should I look elsewhere?
Oh yeah, we have a Mac at home. My wife LOVES her Iphone, but I am wanting to try something different.
The phones I am considering are the Galaxy2, Blackberry Bold 9900, and the Iphone 5.
Any suggestions?
Thank you.

1) On my BB, as soon as I get an email, I am notified. By sound, and a flashing light. Can the Galaxy notify me when new email arrives, or do I have to manually go into a screen to check?

The email app on my phone (Desire Z) polls periodically for emails. If you poll, then you won't get notified right away, but will at the next polling interval.

What I did was just forward everything to my Gmail account. The GMail app supports push emails and I get notified right away when I receive an email.

I think someone else can speak more about how to get push email with non-Gmail accounts. I believe it is possible.