Blockbuster doesn't show up as system app in Titanium


Last Updated:

  1. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    I backed up and deleted Blockbuster with Titanium. But, since I hadn't purchases Titanium yet, it didn't back up the apk (it just backed up the data). I then decided to reinstall Blockbuster so that I could get a proper backup. I moved the apk (which people have posted) and installed it. Then I moved the apk to system/app. The program then wouldn't start, so I updated it in the market (this was happening to people with stock X's too). Everything works and seems fine, except now Titanium doesn't list Blockbuster as a system app. If anyone who's not deleted can check, does Titanium list it as a system? Also, does anyone know if I've done something wrong?
     

    Advertisement
  2. krweby

    krweby Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
  3. krweby

    krweby Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Double post
     
  4. Fenotyp

    Fenotyp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    5
    Humungus,

    From reading your post it sounds like you installed blockbuster straight from the sd card, then cp'd it to /system/app/

    Can you uninstall it from Android's settings > applications > manage applications ? If so, you're phone isn't running it as a system app. Uninstall from there, then reboot your phone. (turn it off then on)

    When it reboots it should pick up the /system/app version of blockbuster and install it automatically as a system app while it boots.

    HTH - Dave
     
  5. kentl901

    kentl901 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, wrong post.. see next post.
     
  6. kentl901

    kentl901 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this issue.

    Copy the apk to your SD card. Then do the following in ADB:

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mddblock3 /system
    cp /sdcard/Blockbuster.apk /system/app/Blockbuster.apk
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    exit
    exit


    Enter those commands. (I assuming you know how to use ADB).

    Verify in TB and you should see it with the red text.
     
  7. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yeah, that's what I did. I uninstalled it from "manage applications" and rebooted. Nothing. It didn't install it. Anyway, thanks for the advice; I hadn't thought of that.

    I ended up just reinstalling from system/app, updating, backing up, and then uninstalling.
     
  8. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    39
    No dice. What does this do? It looks like it's just making /system read-write and copying Blockbuster.apk to system/app (then making /system read only again). Is this right? Because this is exactly what I've done with root manager to no avail.
     
  9. krweby

    krweby Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    here
     

Share This Page

Loading...