Bluetooth- Can't uncheck "media audio"Support

Last Updated:

1. cdavis1381

cdavis1381 Member This Topic's Starter

Hi,

(I'm sorry if I say anything stupid. I've never used bluetooth before.) I have a 2010 Mazda 3 hatchback and the dealer showed me how to use its bluetooth feature with my htc incredible. I want to use it for "phone audio" but not "media audio". To access these options, I long-click on the device name (Mazda) and then click on Options. I then uncheck the "media audio" box, but within a few seconds it checks again automatically. I called and talked to Mazda and they said my phone is "fully compatible", so it should be possible to use it for only phone audio, and that something in the phone was having it connect automatically. I called htc and they basically said bluetooth is really complicated and doesn't work very well. Do any of you know better than the (admittedly friendly) htc representative what I can do? (The car stereo displays both a phone symbol and a media symbol when the bluetooth is paired, so it is able to differentiate between the two.)

Maybe this isn't possible. My goal is to be able to:
    1. Listen to the car stereo
    2. Have spoken navigation from my phone
    3. Have phone calls routed through the car's stereo.
    Is there an ad hoc way to accomplish this? Of the three, the third is the least important, but I'm not ready to give up just yet.

Any suggestions are much appreciated. I'm sorry to write so much.

Advertisement
  2. A.Nonymous

A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

I don't think you can do that because I think it routes navigation through whatever channel is playing music. For example, I have an FM transmitter in my car and I use a BT headset for hands free. My music plays over my FM transmitter. My navigation instructions play over my FM transmitter as well. Phone calls come over BT. This is all by default. I didn't have to make any configuration changes to make this happen.