Bluetooth earpiece/head sets for ACTIVE people

Last Updated:

1. Sticks

Sticks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I'd like to hear from the blue collars here. Which bluetooth earpiece or head set do you use?

I'm a field service mechanic and my day consists of being outside all day (lots of ambient noise and weather), and working in a variety of positions up to and including virtually hanging upside down. Am also required to wear a brain bucket (helmet) and corrective day or night vision (safety glasses) so over the head units are pushing it.

Getting a bluetooth unit for my phone to actually stay in my ear is a challenge. Right now I am using a Plantronics Voyager 520. On my second one and it is for the most part OK. A lot of hit and miss with my Droid as far as reliable connectivity. The first 3 weeks breaking in the earbud was uncomfortable as heck (painful). Volume control is NADA and usually have to jam the earpiece farther into my ear and plug the other unless I am inside my truck.

Not one single company that I have found uses a soft foam rubber ear bud that forms to your ear like most stereo (music) earbuds do.

Lets hear it from you, what do you use? (please provide make and model # or link)

If it doubles as a unit for listening to an MP3 player as well, great.

Advertisement
  2. Joewoowoo

Joewoowoo Well-Known Member