Bluetooth Handsfree and Phone Book TransferSupport


Last Updated:

  1. waynemb55

    waynemb55 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I purchased a new Sprint HTC Hero a couple of days ago. I have been pleased except for one small problem. While I can get the Hero to connect to my Chrysler Uconnect handsfree system over bluetooth, it does not seem to transfer the phone book over to the device. I cannot find an automatic or manual setting to send the phone book over. I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    I dont believe Bluetooth transfers can be done on the Hero yet. Eclair (2.0), if Im not mistaken should add full bluetooth features.
     
  3. Michel Dover

    Michel Dover Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is not a working feature. I had a similar problem.
     
  4. waynemb55

    waynemb55 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing a setting.
     
  5. dave1957

    dave1957 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a BMW Z4 and my Hero successfully downloaded it's entire contact list, or at least the 40 or 50 I scolled though, into the car Bluetooth. Maybe it depends on the car.
     
  6. americonium

    americonium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    Was it an automatic phone book grab, or did you have to tell the phone to send contacts?
     
  7. dave1957

    dave1957 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I double checked to make sure that my phone book was present in my car. It was. But when I went for a drive I lost it only to have it download again when I pulled into the garage. It wasn't my Hero downloading but my Treo that was replaced by the Hero and was in the house. The Treo is in a drawer and hasn't been charged since Sunday, but still has battery life.

    Sorry for the confusion.
     
  8. Michel Dover

    Michel Dover Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now it makes sense.
     
  9. EinZtein

    EinZtein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    36
    I looked for Eclair on Market, couldn't find it.

    Can I pipe all sounds to my Jawbone 2 with this app?

    Like I want to be able to listen to my streaming radio and music through my headset.
     
  10. deadsoccer

    deadsoccer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    All seem to be in agreement there is no way to transfer contact info to a car Bluetooth system. The bluetooth connection works through the Hero, but the call data does not display.

    Similar to the poster above there is a solution. I found if I keep my old phone powered on and in the vehicle it will display the contact info on the dashboard when recieving a call.

    Pretty lame solution but since my old phone no longer gets calls I can leave it in the glove box powered on for a long time.
     
  11. Grinder16

    Grinder16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    My acura downloads it and keeps it, so I took my Pre back out, dowloaded the phone book and it is now there for my Hero. Dont have to have pre in the car or anything -works like a champ
     
  12. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    You wouldnt find "Eclair" on the market. Its not an app, its Android 2.0s code name.

    You didnt notice the pastry codenames? Cupcake, Donut and Eclair? I thought this was common knowledge.
     
  13. bryanheath

    bryanheath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    10
    I saw that feature on my mazda3 but the iphone was not able to do so. What is the process for transfering contacts to the raido on the phone side? That would be awesome. Although I do have 200 + contacts. Hopefully they all fit LOL.
     

Share This Page

Loading...