Bluetooth headset help


Last Updated:

  1. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a motorola bluetooth headset and with my old Storm i could push the button on the headset and it would say "Say a command" from here i could say "Call John Doe mobile" and it would call him up. Havent figured out how to make this work on the Droid in the same manner natively. Is it possible or is there an application. Purpose of bluetooth is to be hands free. Its not very hands free if i have to pull my phone out my pocket to dial the number first to be able to use the headset.
     

    Advertisement
  2. allanlaw

    allanlaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    31
    This feature is not supported in 2.0 at this time.
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Does the native Voice Dialer work? Not Voice Search, but Dialer (white phone handset icon).
     
  4. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0

    I dont know, but the point is i dont want to have to touch my phone.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    There is something about it in the bulletin for the Dec. 11th update. Basically have to use the V Dialer app. until if/when a fix is deployed.

    By the way, did you get your Road Runner account up via K-9 Mail?
     
  6. vzwdroidtech

    vzwdroidtech Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    https://motorola-global-portal.cust...oth/p/30,6720,7155/access_id/37,1/r_id/138858

    Voice dialing via bluetooth is not currently supported. Let's hope for December 11th!
     
  7. Teezy

    Teezy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I gave up on the k9 and default m/ail client
     
  8. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Did you get the email from the RR account Barbara created for me? I got yours. I'm stumped as to what you are doing wrong, but I got in with no issues. Did you delete what you had setup, and use the process I outlined?

    The server name/addr. you were using was wrong. I think that was the biggest problem.
     
  9. Ace Ventura

    Ace Ventura Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was about to open a thread with this same issue, but I guess there's no use.

    It sucks that you can't give voice commands from Bluetooth headset; you have to use the actual phone to do it. Not so Bluetooth-ish. :mad:

    Hope someone makes an app to fix this.
     
  10. jayes

    jayes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    11
    I understand that bluetooth is not supported with headsets, but pardon my ignorance in matters like this, but would that also preclude dialing through the car's bluetooth itself? I have a unique Bluetooth setup. After the fact (meaning after I bought my car and I did not know what to ask before I bought it), I learned my Acura 2006 TSX had a very basic entry-level Bluetooth set up. Although I have a navi system, bluetooth does not show up on the navi screen. My phone and car do not sync contacts and all commands are verbal. I had to put in each number I want to call and associate it to a person. The car remembers this information. My current Moto phone is paired with my car and works perfectly. Call Tom home. Call Maria work. Etc. Will the Droid work too, or should I be waiting for updates prior to purchase? My son has BT working in his Infiniti, but uses the phone in initiate his calls. His calls dialed on his phone go immediately to bluetooth. With the Acura, one has to do some pretty fancy transferring to get a call dialed on the phone to transferr to bluetooth. Not exactly the Handsfree method I want. Appreciate any input. It's easier to know the shortcomings before buying, rather than trying to take it back when it does not work.
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    As for waiting for updates - well, if the update is coming, whether you purchase it now or later you'll have it once it is out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...