Bluetooth OR Wi-fi toggler

Last Updated:

1. kwaping

kwaping Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hi dev people,

I'm a programmer but don't have time to learn Android programming right now, so I'm going to gift you with this idea. All I want in return is a free copy. :)

I noticed that most of the time when I'm using bluetooth, I'm not in a wi-fi area. (Walking the dog with bluetooth headphones, or in my car.) I also noticed that when I'm using wi-fi, I'm almost always not using bluetooth. (Work, home, etc.)

My idea is for a small (single-square) widget that works as a three-way toggle with a single press:

1. Bluetooth on, wi-fi off
    2. Wi-fi on, bluetooth off
    3. Both wi-fi and bluetooth off

Successive taps on the widget cycle through these three modes.

I feel like this should be pretty simple to implement. What do you think - interested?

Advertisement
  2. kwaping

You could also do a cycle like this:

2. Both on
    3. Wi-fi on, bluetooth off
    4. Both off

That might be easier and more intuitive to use, and also more flexible.

3. lexchandra

lexchandra Member

"power control" widget is already good enough to do everything you want.. =)

4. kwaping

There are a lot of things that almost do what I'm looking for. However, for me the key is the "single-block" size. That'll leave more room for other things, while maintaining the functionality I want.

5. knaveofspades

knaveofspades New Member

Tasker in the market should be able to do what you're looking for. It's a bit expensive, but it's very powerful.

6. GTmauf

GTmauf Member

Hey, I saw this app request and wanted to start getting into development on the android platform. So I figured I would give it a shot.

I currently having it working base on your post about the 4 possible states.

2. Both on
    3. Wi-fi on, bluetooth off
    4. Both off

I need to add more images so that you can see the state on the widget as it changes. However it is done and working if you'd like to try it.