• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [Boost Mobile] hot spot

Don't use use the WiFi tether app with the yellow wireless signal, I used that app before and boost mobile somehow found out that I was tethering large amounts of data. I recommend you use PDA net or barnacle WiFi tether. I have the full paid version of PDA net and it works flawlessly.

I have been using "wifi tether for root users" for several months now with no problem. If I have large amounts of data to download I try to spread it out over time if possible. But as far as normal use it's great.

Upvote 0
http://db.tt/USnaqubd <--- barnicle
http://db.tt/edArSxmV <--- pda net
pdanet is better off connecting with your data cable. Foxfi is very sluggish and yeah it'll freeze your phone. here's what I do. I connect my pda net first (install exe and drivers) connect to pda and have your Internet connection after that run barnicle and connect to barnicle through your wifi. You'll have a double connection and your computer's Internet Speed will work faster. Although keep in mind that method doesn't work for everyone but it doesn't hurt to try.

Upvote 0
Don't use use the WiFi tether app with the yellow wireless signal, I used that app before and boost mobile somehow found out that I was tethering large amounts of data. I recommend you use PDA net or barnacle WiFi tether. I have the full paid version of PDA net and it works flawlessly.

I'll second that for Barnacle. Great app if you don't mind only being able to broadcast ad-hoc.

Upvote 0
How do you get other devices to recognize your signal?