[Boost Mobile] wireless hotspot


Last Updated:

  1. mikey808

    mikey808 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    how can i get hotspot to work on boost mobile s3. i found the hidden menu for SVTP Hotspot, but when i turn it on it says hotspot not supported, im rooted and tried other apps but they dont work. is there a way to make the s3 hotspot work?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kevindroid

    kevindroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    232
    welcome to the forum. hope you have a nice stay here. witi tether for root user will work if set for the s4
     
  3. mikey808

    mikey808 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, i've tried wifi tether for root users,it was set to s4 i even tried s3, it connects on the laptop but no internet connection.
     
  4. jstoner

    jstoner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Foxfi wireless and pdanet for pc
     
  5. jstoner

    jstoner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    8
    Foxfi wont give internet on pc with wireless but pda does
     
  6. VarsityPuppet

    VarsityPuppet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any way to get it with non-root? FoxFi and PDANet+ don't seem to work.

    If we do root, is it guaranteed that wifi for root users will work? I suppose it would be worth it...
     
  7. jreink01

    jreink01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    32
    Pda nets faq say that wireless tethering will not work but will work with usb.
     
  8. smith058

    smith058 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    525
    Anyone get tether to work yet? How?

    I'm rooted and been fondling around with different settings on wifitether for root... I can't get any data transfer.
     
  9. The informant

    The informant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm using the MOAR rom and it comes with tethering built in. Works great
     
  10. smith058

    smith058 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    525
    do they have an odin flashable version of that rom? i cant use cwm/twrp, they will not mount to anything for some reason.
     
  11. The informant

    The informant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    4
    smith058 likes this.
  12. smith058

    smith058 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    525
    I finally got tether to work on my phone...
    Used wifi tether trevers mod
    Device profile: generic ics/jb wlan0
    Setup method: netd-ndc
    Send netd Max client cmd: check
    Wifi-driver reload 2: check
    Mss clamping: check
    Routing fix: check
    Change preferred DNS: 66.1.60.132 (may be different for you. Check by: getprop net.dns1 )
    Change alternate DNS: 66.1.60.133 (getprop net.dns2 )

    ...
    Just got it working ... 15 mins no problem... Will update in couple days if all goes well..
     
  13. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    41
    Sometimes u gotta check wifi driver reload 1 also on some phones. I didn't have to change no dns settings.
     
  14. jreink01

    jreink01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    32
    How did you get to that hidden menu for wireless tethering??
     
  15. smith058

    smith058 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    525
    If you are asking me, I did not use a hidden menu...

    Just download the app and make the changes I posted
     
  16. ujin19

    ujin19 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Witch app did u download, there's a bunch of wifi tether, witch one?
    And do u get 4g when u tether.. Thx
     
  17. smith058

    smith058 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    525
  18. 666wicked666

    666wicked666 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm using wifi tether router by dev Fabio Grasso...in configure set mode to method 3 and reboot ...takes a little while to enable but only app on play store that worked for me in fact I'm posting this using it and it's only $1.95 ...hope this helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...