Boot Animations ... what am I doing wrong??Support


Last Updated:

  1. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    I want to add the "android scribble" boot animation (skipping the audio) from here:

    xda-developers - View Single Post - Splash1 and Bootscreen Compilation!

    And I must be missing something ...

    I downloaded the file and dropped it (bootanimation.zip) into my SDK tools folder (for reference, it's c:\sdk\tools).

    I've tried several times to send it to the phone several ways.

    First I booted to recovery, attached via USB (set before I restarted to default charge only with USB debug enabled if that matters) and booted into clockwork recovery.

    Mounted /data from recovery.

    On the computer end:

    adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local

    No dice...

    Also tried it when the phone was on normally, both Charge only and Disk Drive connection.

    I tried a few other boot animations as well to see if it was a bad animation, but still no dice.

    What am I missing??
     

    Advertisement
  2. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    needs to go here

    /system/customize/resource/
     
    elwray likes this.
  3. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks I'll give that a shot ..

    Weird... any idea why every source I found was saying to put it in /data/local?

    Is that maybe for the Moto Droid?
     
  4. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    That is because it was located in /data/local before the 2.2 update. With that, they moved it to the /system/customize/resource/

    In other words, the guides you were reading are out of date.
     
    elwray likes this.
  5. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ah, that makes sense. Thank you!
     
  6. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    also the name of the default animation now has VZW_ in front of it so im not sure if you just uploading your new file will work either without rename the original or moving it
     
  7. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Tried adb push VZW_bootanimation.zip /system/customize/resource but still no good ... I was however able to pull a copy of the stock animation with the same name from that directory as a backup.

    I can't seem to find the delete or rename command for ADB to move the stock one off the phone?
     
  8. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Well to start with, I noticed in your first post you are mounting your data. You actually need to mount /system. I have no idea if that was old information or simply a mistype on XDA's website.

    Also, when you are running the adb commands, make sure you are running them from the proper location in your command prompt. You need to either manually navigate there (to c:\sdk\tools) or you can just open the tools folder in your SDK, right-click somewhere and select "open command prompt".
     
  9. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yes I am mounting /data - I will try it with mounting /system.

    I have been opening the command prompt then navigating to the folder "cd c:\sdk\tools" then running my ADB commands from there. That all seems to be working fine - i.e. no error messages.
     
  10. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Yes, mount /system and it should work just fine from there.


    You'd be very surprised at how many people make the mistake of trying to run those commands from the c drive and not the actual tools folder. So it's always my first question :D
     
  11. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    I'd absolutely believe that ... a lot of people "do" before "read" a little too often. Hence why I sought out [what I thought were] detailed instructions on how to do this before I posted.

    Also wondering if it's possible to delete the bootanimation.zip I pushed to /data/local? I'm kind of anal when it comes to file organization, and even though it won't [hopefully?] affect anything it's going to bug me... ;)

    I'll mount /system and push when I get home from work. Thanks!
     
  12. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    mount /system did it! Thanks guys!

    Just wondering, how can I remove the boot animation audio? I know I can just leave the phone in vibrate before I shut it off, but sometimes I forget ...
     
  13. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    rename the mp3 file .mp_ or whatever
     

Share This Page

Loading...