boot loader.....


Last Updated:

  1. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    so this may be a dumb question, but how do i update the boot loader or recovery. i'm using clockwork, and im assuming there's probably been an update for it. ive read about amon ra or something? sorry if im incorrect. I am just not sure if my phone is wiping dalvik correctly. thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Yes, its called Amon's RA Recovery.

    Link: [Recovery] [28-August-2010] RA-evo-v1.8.0 - xda-developers

    Copy recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img to the root of your sdcard
    start the terminal app or launch adb
    su(press enter)
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img(press enter)
    reboot recovery(press enter)
     
  3. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    after following these steps, i am not sitting at the clockworkMod Revocer v.2.5.0.1

    do i flash something or was this not done correctly?
     
  4. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    Amon RA and Clockwork Mod are two separate, different recovery images. They do the same things, but sometimes they do them differently, like wiping cache and making nandroid backups. If you flashed Amon, then when you get to recovery, (and assuming you didn't swap back with ROM Manager) it should be in the Amon recovery. You'll see that they're similar, but they look and navigate a little differently.

    Also, you don't want to confuse recovery with bootloader. Bootloader is the first thing the phone does. From a power up with no intervention, you don't see it because it sends you straight into Android. If you power up while holding the volume down, Quick Booted to bootloader, or sent the right ADB command, it goes into bootloader (the white text screen) and waits for you to tell it where you want to go next, ie recovery, reboot, etc. You can also do dev stuff from the bootloader, but that's a whole 'nother bucket of worms.
     
    bcrtj457 likes this.
  5. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed these steps:
    Copy recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img to the root of your sdcard
    start the terminal app or launch adb
    su(press enter)
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img(press enter)
    reboot recovery(press enter)

    when it opened recovery, it still said Clockwork.
    And it navigated the exact same as clockwork, so i am assuming it was clockwork.

    So, if I successfully flash Amon, How do I get back to Clockwork? I just don't want to mess up my ability to flash a nandroid backup if I need it. Thanks.
     
  6. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    I used the terminal emulator app to do this. It did not work the first time but the second try worked without any issues. You can flash clockwork back the same way.
     
  7. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    When you entered "flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img" and hit the enter key, what was the phone's response?
     
    bcrtj457 likes this.
  8. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    I keep getting error not such file or directory. Using Terminal.

    Edit: problem solved. Recovery updated on first try.
     
  9. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    this time it said error no such file or directory

    also using terminal on phone
     
  10. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    where it says sd card in the command line, if i've changed the name of my sd card, would that have any effect on it not working or working?
     
  11. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    Then Amon is not flashed, and that's why you're still in CWM. Yes, a name change would definitely have an effect. What did you name the SD root to (and why)? Do your apps still run ok with the name change?
     
  12. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just changed the name of the sd card. like, when i open my phone in disk mode, on my computer i went to rename and renamed it to sammieevo
     
  13. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    I'd unname it and try again.
     
  14. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i "unname" it, what do i rename it to?

    I changed the name to sdcard

    and that did Nothing.
     
  15. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    also i'm noticing that the file's actual name on my sd card is recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0

    in the command line it has recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img

    should i rename the file? or change the command line? or am i on the wrong track?

    UPDATE: i went in and tried to rename the file on my sd card and it did in fact say recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img

    from the command line in terminal i tried without the .img at the end, and that didn't work.
     
  16. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    I think you are getting ahead of yourself, making this harder than it has to be. Let's go one step at a time. When I say unname it, I mean to not give it a name at all. Just erase the SD card's name, and leave it unnamed altogether. On my PC, it just shows up as "Removable Disk ([your letter here]: )".

    Please erase the recovery image from your SD card, recopy it from the PC as is, and don't change the name or the extension. Then try flashing it again.
     
    bcrtj457 likes this.
  17. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i could thank you 20 times i would. that worked. Now. Next question. how do i flash clockwork recovery back on my phone?
     
  18. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    You're most welcome, glad to help.

    You can reflash CWM the same way you just flashed Amon, just use the exact name of the CWM image file. Or you can do it from ROM Manager without even rebooting your phone. It's the first option, Flash ClockworkMod Recovery. Painless.

    In fact, you can swap from CWM to Amon and back at will from within RM, without ever typing or rebooting. The option is down towards the bottom of the RM, second option from the bottom. Just tap Flash Alternate Recovery, then tap OK.

    You might think "Well WTH didn't you tell me that in the first place?!" Because look what happened the last time you tried to do too many things and get ahead of yourself. Don't you think it's better to understand how it works at a fundamental level before you start taking no-brainer shortcuts?
     
  19. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes. i think it is better that i learned how to do it that way, so that i know. it helps me understand the whole process better.
    So rom manager will allow me to switch back and forth between the 2. my sd card just took a crap on me a few days ago, and im not sure how much information was salvaged from it. where can i download the latest image for clockwork?

    thank you so very much. i feel very accomplished today, thanks to you.
     
  20. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    Just do it from ROM Manager, the first option, Flash ClockworkMod Recovery. RM will do the rest.
     
  21. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i click on it, it tells me an error occurred while flashing your recovery.
     
  22. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    What mode is your phone in, Disk drive or Charge only?
     
  23. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    charge only
     
  24. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    OK, please go back into RM.

    Hit menu>Clear Download Cache
    Exit Menu
    Scroll all the way to the bottom and tap All ClockworkMod Recoveries
    Pick any one of the choices and flash it
    Then go back to the top, and try to upgrade to latest version, should be 2.5.0.1
     
  25. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    i get the same error message.
     

Share This Page

Loading...